boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > general boxee help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 24th, 2008, 06:19 AM
chatterbox chatterbox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
Default iPlayer under boxee (old plugin)

OK..Step by Step: (OS X)

Assuming you have already downloaded Boxee.

1) Visit http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-iplayer/ and download the plugin

2) Open the Boxee Package contents and browse to:

Contents\Resources\boxee\plugins\video

Create a folder called iPlayer and copy the contents of the downloaded plugin to that directory

3) browse to ~/Library/Application Support/BOXEE/UserData/profiles/chatterbox/ and open in TextEdit sources.xml

4) Under the Video section add:

Code:
<source>
            <name>iPlayer</name>
            <path>plugin://video/iPlayer/</path>
            <private>false</private>
        </source>
5) Launch Boxee, go to Video, Internet Video, Select iPlayer

6) Select the Channel

7) Select the Program

8) Select info

9) Press Enter (there doesn't seem to be a button but it just magically plays)

Taaa Bloody Daaa

PS - Thanks to Clarkee for some pointers 50/50 me ol' mucker

Last edited by chatterbox; August 26th, 2008 at 12:53 AM. Reason: Removed STREAMING ENABLED var (not needed)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 25th, 2008, 06:24 AM
Strawp Strawp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default

no success here recreating those steps on my Ubuntu install of Boxee but I think the script is not in a particularly reliable place right now. Not sure if there were any prerequisites I needed...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 3rd, 2008, 02:52 PM
pfrumpy pfrumpy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default

Linux noob alert...

I got stuck at step 2 - how do I navigate to Contents\Resources\boxee\plugins\video?

And in step 3 - how do I browse to ~/Library/Application Support/BOXEE/UserData/profiles/chatterbox/ and open in TextEdit sources.xml?


cheers
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 6th, 2008, 12:12 PM
mccu7pj2 mccu7pj2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2
Default

Works for me on the Mac. You can also crib the existing BBC logo in that XML snippet, so it reads like this:

<source>
<name>iPlayer</name>
<path>plugin://video/iPlayer/</path>
<thumbnail>http://rss.boxee.tv/rssthumb/bbc.png</thumbnail>
<private>false</private>
</source>

Thanks very much for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 7th, 2008, 04:44 AM
Gamester17 Gamester17 is offline
Team-XBMC member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 277
Not UK only...

The latest Boxee Alpha release features HTTP proxy support so at least theoretically you could now use this plugin from anywhere in the world as long as you use a UK (United Kingdom) proxy.

It would probably be a violation of BBC iPlayer user agreement doing so but...
__________________
Best regards / Andreas Setterlind (a.k.a. Gamester17)
XBMC Project Manager (and Boxee Alpha tester)

XBMC Media Center (xbmc.org), the cross-platform open source media center and framework that Boxee is built upon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 7th, 2008, 05:50 AM
tsella tsella is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 454
Default

rtmp, the streaming protocol used in iPlayer, is not delivered over http in this case. http proxy will not help.
__________________
-- tsella

blog - http://blog.boxee.tv
twitter - http://twitter.com/tsella http://twitter.com/boxee
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 7th, 2008, 11:38 PM
Gamester17 Gamester17 is offline
Team-XBMC member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 277
Unhappy

doh! I did not think of that
__________________
Best regards / Andreas Setterlind (a.k.a. Gamester17)
XBMC Project Manager (and Boxee Alpha tester)

XBMC Media Center (xbmc.org), the cross-platform open source media center and framework that Boxee is built upon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 12th, 2008, 10:16 PM
iwoolf iwoolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsella View Post
rtmp, the streaming protocol used in iPlayer, is not delivered over http in this case. http proxy will not help.
I just got BBC iPlayer to work with a proxy in Firefox using the instructions here: http://www.darkedges.com/bbc/. He uses a Greasemonkey script with FoxyProxy. I found a UK proxy here: http://www.xroxy.com/proxy-country-GB.htm

It works, I can now watch BBC iPlayer in Australia. So the principle should work for boxee. I'll try it later this weekend if I can work out how to insert the proxy information.

Is there any chance of a Python-speaking person adapting this plugin for ABC iView?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 16th, 2008, 02:12 PM
digiguru digiguru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thumbs up Sweeet!

This works a treat. The google code page says it isn't working at the moment, but I think their wrong. Works perfectly for me. I notice you can also choose the streaming options under streaming. This is great because windows users got a better compressed video, rather than the website's inferior flash compression.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 7th, 2008, 03:41 PM
Headspace Headspace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I can't get this to work for the life of me. Just get a "Failed to retrieve data" message for both OSX and ATV versions. Am I missing something of have the BBC broken it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.