boxee :: forum  

Go Back   boxee :: forum > boxee community > boxee frequently asked questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 31st, 2008, 09:36 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,144
Default How do i generate a debug log?

Please edit or create advancedsettings.xml.

Under Linux, create ~/.boxee/UserData/advancedsettings.xml
Under Mac/ATV, create ~/Library/Application Support/BOXEE/UserData/advancedsettings.xml
Under Windows Vista, create c:\Users\<windows user name>\AppData\Roaming\BOXEE\userdata\advancedsetti ngs.xml
Under Windows XP, create c:\Documents and Settings\<your windows user name>\Application Data\BOXEE\userdata\advancedsettings.xml

to include the following code:
<advancedsettings>
<loglevel>0</loglevel>
</advancedsettings>


after starting boxee, your log will be located at

Linux:
/tmp/<username>-boxee.log

Mac:
~/Library/Logs/boxee.log

Windows Vista:
c:\Users\<your windows user name>\AppData\Roaming\BOXEE\boxee.log

Windows XP:
c:\Documents and Settings\<your windows user name>\Application Data\BOXEE\boxee.log

Last edited by tsella; January 1st, 2009 at 12:20 PM. Reason: added windows log location
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 11th, 2008, 09:37 AM
johninsj johninsj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 50
Default

This is a startup - logout (pegged at 100% - sigh)

Didn't see anything interesting but then I don't know what I'm looking for.

Going to log in and run my kid to school - will post that log in 20 or so min
Attached Files
log.zip (7.0 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 26th, 2008, 07:57 PM
remthewanderer remthewanderer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

really dumb first question:

boxee is crashing consistantly about 1 minute after starting the app. I am running it on os x 10.5 I am familiar with the terminal but I can not find

~/.boxee/UserData

in order to submit a debug log. what am I doing wrong? can anyone point me in the right direction?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 26th, 2008, 08:26 PM
remthewanderer remthewanderer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default not seeing ~/.boxee/UserData

I don't see
~/.boxee/UserData in the terminal. what am I missing? I would like to send a debug log because:

Boxee is crashing every time I go to the home screen.

home screen = screen with all the recommendations.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 15th, 2008, 06:14 PM
johnrb85 johnrb85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel View Post
Please edit or create advancedsettings.xml.

~/.boxee/UserData/advancedsettings.xml to include the following code:
<advancedsettings>
<loglevel>0</loglevel>
</advancedsettings>

after starting boxee, your log will be located at

Linux:
/tmp/<username>-boxee.log

Mac:
~/Library/Logs/boxee.log
Windows:
C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\BOXEE\boxee.lo g
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 29th, 2008, 07:09 AM
iBeech iBeech is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 108
Default

Where is the log file in Windows?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 1st, 2009, 12:01 PM
bmoura bmoura is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel View Post
Please edit or create advancedsettings.xml.

~/.boxee/UserData/advancedsettings.xml to include the following code:
<advancedsettings>
<loglevel>0</loglevel>
</advancedsettings>

after starting boxee, your log will be located at

Linux:
/tmp/<username>-boxee.log

Mac:
~/Library/Logs/boxee.log
Is there a way to create a comparable log for the Windows version of Boxee?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 01:45 AM
nail nail is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 60
Default

marcel,

A quick question, does the boxee.log on Windows Vista re-create itself after every instance of the program is run?

Sometimes I run into a crash. Should I quickly look at the log file and upload it here when this happens?
__________________
http://boxee-user.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 11:43 AM
VirtualEnder VirtualEnder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default

~/.boxee is a hidden folder, you must use ls -la to see hidden folders instead of ls. I am running boxee on leopard and gentoo linux. Let me know if you have any questions.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 11:51 AM
VirtualEnder VirtualEnder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default

On mac the file is located at ~/Library/Application Support/BOXEE/UserData/advancedsettings.xml not ~/.boxee, sorry I missed the fact you were running Leopard the first time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.