boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > boxee for appletv help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 19th, 2008, 09:00 PM
avneron avneron is offline
team boxee
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 67
Exclamation Apple TV 2.3

after upgrading to 2.3 the Launcher and boxee/xbmc will not run.

if you want to keep using boxee, please do not upgrade until we figure it out

update: most issues resolved. down to 2 more problems to solve. patch should be ready tomorrow (we hope)

update 2: there is a manual install workaround, see http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=2121

update 3: new atvusb-creator, resolving most 2.3 issues, see http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=2180

Last edited by tsella; November 24th, 2008 at 06:22 PM. Reason: update re new atvusb-creator
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 19th, 2008, 09:03 PM
agentlame's Avatar
agentlame agentlame is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,709
Send a message via AIM to agentlame
Default

how to disable auto-updates:
Quote:
Originally Posted by raallf View Post
This is defiently the biggest problem with the Appletv. The updates kill your hack and updates.

sudo bash -c 'echo "127.0.0.1 mesu.apple.com" >> /etc/hosts'

I've turned off auto updates, hopefully this update isn't important, just adding some new crap.
thanks raallf!
__________________
personal: boxee | twitter | boxee hq
boxee: boxee chat | boxee wiki | boxee plugins

i run boxee 0.9.20 on: ubuntu 9.10, windows xp sp3 (virtual machine), windows 7 and a neuros link hacked to all hell.

what super powers does a 'super mod' have? the 'super ban'... that, and laser vision.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 20th, 2008, 12:57 AM
davilla davilla is offline
Team-XBMC member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 573
Default

An Update:

Some problem with XBMCLauncher and downloading, the screen goes black when starting the update/install but WILL return when the download completes. But the install script does not run so Boxee.app does not get installed. Manually running the script works and Boxee can then be launched by XBMCLauncher.

The good news is r2.3 adds IR learning and I've been running XBMC on r2.3 using a Hauppauge IR remote. Boxee should be similar Not clear yet if we can get access to more keys or not but this is good news despite the update hickup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 20th, 2008, 05:10 AM
zerock zerock is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to zerock
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davilla View Post
An Update:

Some problem with XBMCLauncher and downloading, the screen goes black when starting the update/install but WILL return when the download completes. But the install script does not run so Boxee.app does not get installed. Manually running the script works and Boxee can then be launched by XBMCLauncher.

The good news is r2.3 adds IR learning and I've been running XBMC on r2.3 using a Hauppauge IR remote. Boxee should be similar Not clear yet if we can get access to more keys or not but this is good news despite the update hickup.
thanks for the headsup
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 20th, 2008, 09:17 AM
jeffmccord jeffmccord is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Sent a tip to TUAW.com for Apple TV 2.3 update and Boxee

I twittered Boxee last night re: my Apple TV updating to 2.3 and thus won't update Boxee/installer when you first install it. They are working on it.

Also, here's an article from TUAW.com -

http://www.tuaw.com/2008/11/19/apple...-2-3-released/

Sounds like I now will have to wait for USB Creator and Boxee to do a 2.3 version.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 20th, 2008, 12:12 PM
f7sharp9 f7sharp9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davilla View Post
An Update:

Manually running the script works and Boxee can then be launched by XBMCLauncher.

How do you manually run the installer? Where is it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 23rd, 2008, 03:39 PM
TravisR100 TravisR100 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default Bump

Quote:
Originally Posted by f7sharp9 View Post
How do you manually run the installer? Where is it?
Was this answered and I missed it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 11th, 2008, 07:25 AM
boxeemac boxeemac is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default

at the moment boxee latest version is working not with problem tho. yes it crashed many time went black screen the whole gambit. my advice to all who love boxee one be on top of the game meaning watch the sequence of how boxee loads if it is not the sequence that loads it then you know that the program has to re re launched.

tip: when the screen goes black ....what about 5 seconds then press menu button twice or in till you return to main menu.
then return to boxee.

the most important thing to remember is the boxee is not perfect yet but for what is out there boxee is the best for me, take time to learn what the program can do. some times the problem fixes it self like in my case thus far I have the sequence I was looking for (full apple symbol) ( then half apple symbol) the ( flash) that should bring you to the login screen. after that you should be in boxee.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 12th, 2008, 10:06 AM
bootamac bootamac is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default Broken Apple TV

I installed Boxee, 1.0.10b, on a 2.3 version of apple tv. The program worked and I downloaded the latest boxee app. That worked but the next day all I can get is a silver apple on black background. I rebooted the apple tv, but if I hit menu all I get is the outlined menu box with no text. I can ssh into boxee with terminal or Cyber Duck. Any ideas on how to restore my apple tv?

Last edited by bootamac; December 12th, 2008 at 11:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 12th, 2008, 06:45 PM
jgc94131 jgc94131 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3
Default problems with boxee on apple TV 2.3

I've got a display problem with my apple tv running 2.3 and the latest boxee alpha (0.9.5.4497). My apple tv is set to 1080i HD, and when I view content with boxee the aspect ratio is wrong. For example the rotating starburst busy icon is flattened rather than round (it appears wider than it is tall). All content viewed with the apple tv apps is perfect.

Another (small) problem is that the time and temperature display on the bottom of the screen is showing the wrong time (temp seems ok).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.