boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee developers > boxee applications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old February 4th, 2010, 11:12 AM
DPK DPK is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmcnuggetx View Post
Could the first post be updated to include the recomended solution of using test-app. Just for people who don't read the whole thread through before trying a solution.
Done!
__________________
Common issues w/ Boxee:
Beta Important Info | FAQ & Support Requests | Hulu Mature Content | Search

UnBoxeed app development:
Comics.com | ESPN360 | Weather

For more info, follow app development on Twitter!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 27th, 2010, 12:27 AM
smartroutetour smartroutetour is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to smartroutetour
Default

hi
I've added my feed on the website to my accout, but how do I see in Boxee?

smartroutetour
http://www.smartroutetour.com/
__________________
Please visit more about tour and transportation services , airport and cruise port shuttle services and related much more services.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 7th, 2010, 07:58 AM
Repsej70 Repsej70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPK View Post
There's a trick that you can use and it just requires an extra line in you apps descriptor!
  1. Put your app (my-app in this example) in the apps directory:
    ~/BOXEE/userdata/apps/my-app
  2. Upload the thumbnail of your app (200 x 200 pixels) to an image host temporarily. I'm a big fan of http://imgur.com, but to each their own.

  3. Open up your apps "descriptor.xml" file (located in ~/BOXEE/userdata/aps/my-app) and add the test-app tag:
    Code:
    <app>
    	<id>my-app</id>
    	<name>My App</name>
    	<version>0.0.1</version>
    	<description>My test app!</description>
    	<repository>http://dir.domain.com</repository>
    	<media>videos</media>
    	<copyright>Me</copyright>
    	<email>me@domain.com</email>
    	<type>skin</type>
    	<startWindow>14000</startWindow>
    	<platform>all</platform>
    	<minversion>0.9.20</minversion>
    	<test-app>true</test-app>
    </app>
    ...replacing what is in bold with your app's information.

  4. Restart Boxee. Go to your Apps section of Boxee and My App should be listed along with your other applications.

I followed the guide above and it worked great on windows xp .. but on windows7 I can't get to the Boxee folder .. ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 7th, 2010, 08:06 AM
guuru guuru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 52
Default

Boxee apps folder locations:

* Linux: ~/.boxee/UserData/apps

* Mac/ATV: ~/Library/Application Support/BOXEE/UserData/apps

* Windows Vista/7: C:\Users\<windows user name>\AppData\Roaming\BOXEE\userdata\apps

* Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\<your windows user name>\Application Data\BOXEE\userdata\apps

Make sure you have "show hidden files" on.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 7th, 2010, 09:43 AM
Repsej70 Repsej70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Thumbs up

great .. found it .. thanks alot !!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old November 8th, 2010, 07:11 AM
guuru guuru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 52
Default

No problem
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old November 21st, 2010, 07:36 PM
newboxeeuser newboxeeuser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Couldn't one simply use the web server that Boxee runs for iPhone remote control to host the thumbnail and XML for RSS feed?

EDIT: I should add, on Windows 7 I can't find a directory that the built in Boxee web server uses, so I'm guessing its the exe and prolly unusable for the purposes above, anyone know for sure? Otherwise I gotta find a site to host an RSS feed....

Last edited by newboxeeuser; November 21st, 2010 at 08:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old December 3rd, 2010, 03:51 PM
griffindodd griffindodd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Default

I am having trouble getting my test App to show up, I followed all of the information in this thread including the test-app flag but my app still doesn't show in my apps??

I have checked that it is in the correct folder, here's my code...

Code:
<app>
  <id>onlive</id>
  <name>OnLive</name>
  <version>1.0</version>
  <description>This is test app to bring onlive into the Boxee interface</description>
  <thumb>http://www.bitsontherun.com/static/uploads/images/logo.png</thumb>
  <repository>http://dir.boxee.tv/apps</repository>
  <media>video</media>
  <copyright>Boxee</copyright>
  <email>support@boxee.tv</email>
  <type>skin</type>
  <startWindow>14000</startWindow>
  <platform>all</platform>
  <minversion>0.9.9</minversion>
  <url>http://www.google.com</url>
  <test-app>true</test-app>
</app>
EDIT: Nevermind I had the .xml named wrong
__________________
KinEmote - Control Boxee with X-Box Kinect

Boxee for Windows, Win 7 Ultimate 32bit (Patched Kernel), Core Duo 2 @ 3.43ghz, 4GB Ram, ATi HD-5760, Nvidia HD HDMi Audio, HVR-1255, Gigabyte E7AUM-DS2H, 5.0 TB SATA, Kinect & KinEmote, Logitech 710 for control

Last edited by griffindodd; December 3rd, 2010 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 3rd, 2011, 04:45 AM
reload69 reload69 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default Icefilms App

I came accros an Icefilms.info addon that seems to work for the XBMC. Can this XML script be used or altered to work for boxee. the script i found is below and the webisite is http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=87703.




<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?>
- <addon id="repository.googlecode.anarchintosh-projects" name="anarchintosh addons" version="1.0.0" provider-name="anarchintosh">
- <extension point="xbmc.addon.repository" name="anarchintosh add-on repository">
<info compressed="false">http://anarchintosh-projects.googlecode.com/svn/addons/addons.xml</info>
<checksum />
<datadir zip="false">http://anarchintosh-projects.googlecode.com/svn/addons</datadir>
</extension>
- <extension point="xbmc.addon.metadata">
<summary>Install Addons from http://anarchintosh-projects.googlecode.com</summary>
<description>Download and install addons from anarchintosh repository.</description>
<platform>all</platform>
</extension>
</addon>
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.