boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > announcements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old November 25th, 2011, 06:36 PM
motytrah motytrah is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Default

Pros: Supports Sling Products Circ 2008 and later (i.e. that's when the Sling Solo came out).
Quality is Okay, but I wouldn't say fantastic. This is on a wired 1000MB network though neither Boxee nor Slingbox are 1000MB. I would say more things that stream from a CDN look better than what's coming from local network.

Cons: Doesn't support SlingBox built into latest generation of DishNetwork DVRs (Dish Owns Sling)
Doesn't support on screen program guide like most of the other sling interfaces. IR lag is a bit tiring.


There's a lot of potential. Given Logitech boned Dish on the Google TV perhaps boxee will get some love.

Wishlist:

EPG integration
Volume Control
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old December 3rd, 2011, 08:51 AM
thedishking thedishking is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

While I am very happy the app is here, there seems to be some things that were missed.

I am using the Twisted Melon IR receiver, so I can use a Universal Remote Control MX980 with the Boxee Box.

While the remote works great with the Boxee Box; it seems as though the numbers don't work - specifically in the Slingplayer app.

Also, it would be nice to have "spacebar" or another function available on the remote.

I have also tried taking one of the old Microsoft IR keyboards, and Boxee is ignoring most of those commands.

While the Boxee box is getting much better, this would really be a great addition.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old December 7th, 2011, 01:34 PM
CraigOMN CraigOMN is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default

If someone were to develop a DishNetwork/Sling Boxee app, I would be willing to beta test it using my Boxee Box.

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old December 11th, 2011, 11:07 PM
dxintel dxintel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

I have a slingbox solo and a boxee box on the same home network 100mb and for some strange reason I can't get anything other then the lowest (picture quality) resolution. It's almost as if the boxee app is going out to the internet and then back to my home network. I don't have a very fast internet connection (3mb down .3mb up) I can stream sling locally with the slingplayer or android app and get high quality HD with in my home network. Any one have any ideas on how I can get the boxee box app to pull the local stream from my slingbox?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old December 21st, 2011, 09:58 AM
ekbsrk ekbsrk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Default Frame rate

Hi everyone
just wondering if anyone is seeing low frame rate issues. Im able to stream at 8mbps consistently on the best hd setting, but my frame rate fluctuates between 15-23 fps. The stream doesnt buffer, but rather is just choppy on constant motion, especially hockey. Its watchable, just sometimes hard on the eyes. Any suggestions?

Ive tried using the lower resolutions, but the issue still persists. I wonder if its a hardware limitation of the boxee. Id really like to get is closer to 30.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old March 10th, 2012, 12:18 PM
DeanSupreme uk DeanSupreme uk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Any chance that this app could be able to support echostar HDS-600RS which is slingloaded?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old March 10th, 2012, 01:04 PM
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orbiting Venus
Posts: 13,273
Default

You'd have to contact EchoStar and/or Slingbox about that.
__________________
Note: This is a users' community forum. For official support, submit a Support Request.
You can also find out how to Get Help or view the Boxee Box Documentation.
See also: READ THIS FIRST & Live TV FAQ. RIP: Boxee Desktop


Boxee Box v1.5.0.23615 with a 32" Panasonic TC-L32X2.
Plex running on HP TouchSmart 600xt, iPhone 4, iPad 2, and HP m8400f Vista x86 HTPC which is also running
Plex Media Server/SageTV 7.1/Intelliremote via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550
with everything orbiting an HP EX490 MediaSmart Server/WHS+MediaSonic w/12TB of storage.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old March 11th, 2012, 02:46 PM
DeanSupreme uk DeanSupreme uk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
You'd have to contact EchoStar and/or Slingbox about that.
Will do...cheers for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old March 11th, 2012, 03:47 PM
Flyinace2000 Flyinace2000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 21
Default

Anyone else have really dark picture quality. All my other video sources on boxee show up fine. THe sling box is hooked up to a TiVoHD via component cables (new ones from monoprice). Internet is 20/20 fiber at the house and 25/25 here with boxee, so bandwidth is not an issue at all
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.