boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > boxee for linux help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old December 4th, 2009, 06:11 PM
beargiles beargiles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default Losing applications

I got this setup working after figuring out that I needed to reinstall the xserver-xorg-server-nv (?) package. For some reason it wasn't getting caught and I was stuck using a generic SVGA driver -- instant black screen when I started boxee.

There's just one thing remaining - I can install an application but they don't stay installed. I think it's a file permission problem but don't know where to start looking.

BTW my boxee packages are installed under /opt/boxee, but I changed the owner to 'boxee' (instead of 'root') so the unprivileged user could modify them. There must be other files that are still owned by root....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 23rd, 2010, 12:11 AM
boxaccounts boxaccounts is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Good job guys!
__________________
[moderator note: no advertising/spam please]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 25th, 2010, 03:09 AM
darukka darukka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Default

did anyone manage to get SPDIF out working with the ASRock 330?
__________________

My Setup
System: ASRock ION330 HT (Windows 7 64 / Boxee)
TV: LG 32LC2R
Audio: Sony HT-DDW790 5.1
Remote: Logitech Harmony One

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 08:52 PM
rthoma4 rthoma4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default Trouble with install

Hey guys,

I'm trying to install Jaunty on to my ASRock ION330 but I'm having trouble when it comes to installing mplayer. I'm new to Linux but wanted to try it because of stability, etc when compared to Windows and so I've used the tutorials at the top of this thread as well as on Lifehacker to try and install Jaunty. I've updated all the repositories that are indicated in these tutorials but when it comes to installing mplayer in the Package Manager, I get this error:
--------------
Could not mark all packages for installation or upgrade
The following packages have unresolvable dependencies. Make sure that all required repositories are added and enabled in the preferences.

mplayer:
Depends: mplayer-nogui but it is not going to be installed
Depends: libdirectfb-1.2-0 but it is not installable
Depends: libx264-67 (>=1:0.svn20090502) but it is not installable
--------------
Is there something that I'm missing here? I've searched around for repositories, etc but can't seem to find anything to resolve this.

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old February 22nd, 2010, 09:19 AM
jack0rlando jack0rlando is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Fix the wrong aspect ratio

I spent a long time working this out. If you go into the advanced display settings and make the square a perfect square all aspect ratio problems are solved. Hope this works for you!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 4th, 2010, 09:15 AM
kilgore kilgore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Ubuntu woes,sources list?

I have a xps Dell 400 desktop. Long ago I screwed up the MBR and found that unless I installed Ubuntu, I had a big doorstop.
ANYWAY
At first boxee would only play like 3 secs then crash. I tried envyng...almost sold the farm. Got rid of that.
Then I found this long sources list..
http://anotherugly.wordpress.com/my-...32-and-64-bit/
Maybe you could look at it and see if I really need all of this. I got rid of a lot of it. Kept the wine stuff, didnt use the opera, medical imaging, satanic ubuntu? etc.
After I reloaded..I got error about unauthenticated or some such. BUT BOXEE WORKED!
EXCEPT..the mouse is super slow..almost non existant. I tried using Tab....I mean it works..but....also it seems like Im using lotsa resources. I tried looking at an old TV show on archive.org..and sound..no pic. I think Im still missing the boat. BTW my Macbookpro also has boxee..it works great.
__________________
hingerty@gmail.com
None are so hopelessly enslaved as those, who falsely believe they are free.
-Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 30th, 2010, 05:06 PM
reys739 reys739 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default

I'm about to install Jaunty on my asrock box i think it'd perform better than w7...i bought this remote lenovo n5901. It should work... it works in the bios without any issues. But I'll keep you updated.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old April 5th, 2010, 02:01 PM
reys739 reys739 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reys739 View Post
I'm about to install Jaunty on my asrock box i think it'd perform better than w7...i bought this remote lenovo n5901. It should work... it works in the bios without any issues. But I'll keep you updated.
It's more of a handheld keyboard/mouse http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/c..._menu_area=yes but it has multimedia keys. It works fine in ubuntu w/o any driver installs, it uses RF and it's great for the money.

I saw someone say about the resolution on their tv. I spend about an hour looking that up and found out it is a setting on your tv some where. I have a sharp that has a mode button i picked the "dot-by-dot" option and resolution was fixed. Check your specific brand tv for the adjustments.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 31st, 2010, 07:13 AM
system system is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Default

if you are using an asrock ion 330 and want to use ubuntu, i'd recommend installing a 64 bit version. the performance is much improved over the 32 bit version.

for getting the s/pdif audio output working, just like hdmi, use gnome-alsamixer to activate the relevant hardware interface.

i've got everything working without any issues so far. i did have to modify the nvidia x server settings to add some overscan, but that's been about it thus far.
__________________
Boxee Beta 0.9.21.11487 for Ubuntu 64bit Linux
Ubuntu x86_64 10.04
ASRock ION 330
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old August 14th, 2010, 08:49 PM
akshunj akshunj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 89
Send a message via Yahoo to akshunj
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by system View Post
if you are using an asrock ion 330 and want to use ubuntu, i'd recommend installing a 64 bit version. the performance is much improved over the 32 bit version.

for getting the s/pdif audio output working, just like hdmi, use gnome-alsamixer to activate the relevant hardware interface.

i've got everything working without any issues so far. i did have to modify the nvidia x server settings to add some overscan, but that's been about it thus far.
You have any issues with flash for Hulu content?
__________________
Boxee BETA (always the latest)
HTPC - ASRock micro-ATX w/ NVidia 8200 onboard graphics (VDPAU) (AMD Athlon2 X2 2.9Ghz dual-core, 2GB RAM, gigabit LAN), bluetooth mouse/keyboard combo, Microsoft MCE IR remote
Linux Mint 9 Isadora 32-bit (Ubuntu 10.04), VGA-out, Optical Audio-out


Home-Server - Old-ass Athlon single-core system w/ 512MB RAM, gigabit LAN, 1TB external HD
Ubuntu 9.10 32-bit server edition, SABnazd, Episode Butler, MediaTomb, Samba, NFS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.