boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > boxee for appletv help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 27th, 2008, 12:29 PM
tsella's Avatar
tsella tsella is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 453
Lightbulb [FAQ] So how do i get boxee on atv?

first, a short disclaimer - we, boxee, have not devised the method of loading applications onto the apple tv. you have the great guys at atvusb-creator to thank for that, and for making it relatively simple. and of course, those preceding them at finding the methods of doing it in the first place.

so one resource on how to really do it is of course heading to atvusb-creator and following instructions.

a possibly easier to follow guide is available at Wired.com, with a more in-depth version at their howto wiki.

two things to always keep in mind:
  1. the atvusb-creator will treat your external usb harddrive as a thumb drive, at least until the next version. make sure you are formatting the correct device.
  2. you can always go back, power-off and on while pressing menu+minus, select language, factory restore, and update your atv to latest version.
__________________
-- tsella

blog - http://blog.boxee.tv
twitter - http://twitter.com/tsella http://twitter.com/boxee
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 27th, 2008, 02:52 PM
alienmeatsack alienmeatsack is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

I'll add that using the simple instructions you point to, it could not be simpler to get boxee onto your Apple TV!

It was so simple, in fact, that I thought I had done something wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 10th, 2008, 06:29 PM
mtrotta mtrotta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default an invite....

hello all,
can anyone tell me how to get an invite? im cant wait to see how this works on apple tv....thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 11th, 2008, 06:32 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,158
Default

go to this thread http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=144
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 14th, 2008, 06:45 PM
pyrr pyrr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Silly Question, i have an already built AppleTV system with other nameless apps, i wondering how to load the app without making the USB key.

Thanks again
jeff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 15th, 2008, 12:58 PM
agentlame's Avatar
agentlame agentlame is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,709
Send a message via AIM to agentlame
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrr View Post
Silly Question, i have an already built AppleTV system with other nameless apps, i wondering how to load the app without making the USB key.

Thanks again
jeff
not sure this is exactly what you want, but check-out this:
http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php...manual+install
__________________
personal: boxee | twitter | boxee hq
boxee: boxee chat | boxee wiki | boxee plugins

i run boxee 0.9.20 on: ubuntu 9.10, windows xp sp3 (virtual machine), windows 7 and a neuros link hacked to all hell.

what super powers does a 'super mod' have? the 'super ban'... that, and laser vision.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 26th, 2008, 01:43 AM
highvoltage highvoltage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Just downloaded and installed on 2.3. I would love to try it out. Can someone please send me an invite? it would be greatly appreciated.

highvoltage1215 (at) gmail (dot) com

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 26th, 2008, 02:14 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,158
Default

please post your invite to http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=144
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 30th, 2008, 09:02 AM
Northness Northness is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Default Contents of Patchstick

Question 1

I have just created Patchstick using ATV USb Creator (1.0.b10). In this I selected from the third drop-down menu on the RH side "XBMC/Boxee for Mac" option (somewhat confusing as all 4 options automatically have green ticks against them) .. i just ticked the last ...

When I look at the contents of the Patchstick it shows two plugins .. one under the folder "SoftwareMenu", and the other "XMBCLauncher" .. but no mention of Boxee.

Looking at the step-by-step guide at http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/ the screenshots, presumably from an earlier version of the creator, show separate plugins BoxeeLauncher and XMBCLauncher. Conversely there is no mention of SoftwareMenu.

Have I done something wrong in creating Patchstick .. or have plugins changes with latest version ?

Question 2

I (mis-?)understand that I need to load the ssh (modifier ? plugin ? whatever ..) to allow me to terminal in to the ATV ? I do not see that on my Patchstick, though it is the first option in the dropdown menu mentioned above. Do I need to create a new/separate patchstick for that and run it ?


Sorry if these are very basic questions, but when new to all this it is comforting to have all the small details clear; for those people who have done this many times it may seem trivial .. but it ain;t !!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 30th, 2008, 12:04 PM
davilla davilla is offline
Team-XBMC member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 573
Default

XMBCLauncher handles both boxee and xbmc

I suggest, enabling ssh and bintuils.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apple tv, howto

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.