boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > boxee for appletv help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:42 PM
gggbills gggbills is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrotz View Post
Neophyte ATV user. Installed new version of Boxee from Launcher. When I go into Boxee now I get the "flash" and then nothing happens, just a blank screen. Any ideas?
New to the whole thing as of tonight. I created the patchstick, install it on ATV. When I downloaded the software on ATV, I only downloaded Boxee alpha, no launcher, no XBMC only boxee. Was that wrong?

The install of Boxee seem to go well. Anyway, when I try and go to boxee all I get is a black screen. Any help would be nice
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 5th, 2009, 10:41 PM
gggbills gggbills is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gggbills View Post
New to the whole thing as of tonight. I created the patchstick, install it on ATV. When I downloaded the software on ATV, I only downloaded Boxee alpha, no launcher, no XBMC only boxee. Was that wrong?

The install of Boxee seem to go well. Anyway, when I try and go to boxee all I get is a black screen. Any help would be nice
Just answered my own question. I installed the launcher and now Boxee works great on ATV!!!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 6th, 2009, 05:57 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,158
Default

good to hear it is now working..
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old May 18th, 2009, 10:21 PM
hubbacm hubbacm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Patchstick does not work

No matter what I do, I can't seem to get my appletv to recognize the usb patchstick when it reboots. I know the files on the drive are correct and it has been formatted to mac os extended via the disk utility. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old May 27th, 2009, 04:24 AM
rachat024 rachat024 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

That's quite an interesting topic. Your posts are very nice and helpful. Thank you very much.

pret auto
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old June 10th, 2009, 08:52 PM
EasyRiderNYC EasyRiderNYC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 19
Default All new to me.

Will boxee get erased if I update my ATV software?

Who is Avner Ronen? He is my "friend", no idea who he is and how he got to be my "friend".

What is XBMC in the Launcher? Does it work on ATV?

Can I run my music through Boxee that is on my ATV already? My music won't show up.

Hulu is all jittery, is there anything I can do about it?

Do I always have to launch Boxee? Can it just show up in the menu on the left in ATV?

I assume I am a Alpha User Tester, what can I do to help?

Cheers,
Chuck

Last edited by EasyRiderNYC; June 10th, 2009 at 08:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old June 16th, 2009, 06:39 AM
divorce certificate divorce certificate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default so how do i get boxee on atv?

What Exactly is Boxee? Sorry for the Stupid Question

Postby jreffner@fuse.net Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:38 am
I got my Boxee invitation and now I'm confused as to exactly what it is.

I apologize for this idiotic question, but what is Boxee?

Is it a replacement interface for my flashed AppleTV, or if I add Boxee to the latest installation of my flashed AppleTV, then will I just get more features in the same flashed AppleTV interface that I'm used to?

Going to the Boxee site makes it look like a community place where I say, "Hey I watched movie X, and Joe over there watched movie Y. The fack that Boxee appears to be an "Advanced" plug-in in the latest aTV flash update makes me think it simply adds functionality to the same AppleTV flashed interface. Having read other info on this forum makes me think it will completely change the interface of my AppleTV.

I'm so confused and would really appreciate clear information explaining EXACTLY what Boxee is. Please assume I'm a total moron.

Many thanks,
__________________
divorce certificate
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old June 18th, 2009, 03:00 AM
john11f john11f is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default another silly Q

what DMG do i choose when I use ATV USB Creator?

also, how do i format a usb stick for os x? mine says DOS...
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old June 18th, 2009, 07:09 PM
ctazx ctazx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default USB Thumb Drive or Firelite

I don't have a usb thumb drive, can I use a usb firelite drive, will that be bootable on apple tv? Thank you for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old June 28th, 2009, 11:36 AM
j3cubcapt j3cubcapt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry for coming in late in the discussion, but I'm trying to search the forum for the answer to this question, but there is so much info I can't find the simple answer.

I recieved a new ATV for fathers day.

I have found the patchstick creation video here
http://boxee.blip.tv/#1418648

I have found the patchstick google code here
http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/

I have found the patchstick installation video here (Fourth video down on the right side)
http://boxee.blip.tv/#1418648

My question is, will all of this work on a New ATV? Most of the posts were from the 4th quarter of 2008, I just want to know if I'm OK to proceed, or are there problems with the newer ATV software 2.2 vs 2.3 and this hack?


Thanks
Will
Dallas Tx

Last edited by j3cubcapt; June 28th, 2009 at 11:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apple tv, howto

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.