boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > boxee for mac help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 29th, 2008, 10:35 PM
iBog iBog is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 325
Default Boxee Video Tutorial: Sharing files on Mac

I create a short Boxee video tutorial and posted it to YouTube.

My first tutorial is about sharing files on your Mac so they can be viewed from Boxee.

Check it out at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ai8lGU-mX1U

Let me know what you think and if there are any other topics you'd like to see.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 30th, 2008, 06:53 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,146
Default

great job ..extremely clear instructions ..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 30th, 2008, 07:16 AM
iBog iBog is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 325
Default

I just figured out a way to screen capture Boxee so my next video tutorial will cover adding the network share I just created as a media source in Boxee.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 30th, 2008, 08:31 AM
agentlame's Avatar
agentlame agentlame is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,709
Send a message via AIM to agentlame
Default

dude... nailed it!

that was great! clear, simple and well explained.
__________________
personal: boxee | twitter | boxee hq
boxee: boxee chat | boxee wiki | boxee plugins

i run boxee 0.9.20 on: ubuntu 9.10, windows xp sp3 (virtual machine), windows 7 and a neuros link hacked to all hell.

what super powers does a 'super mod' have? the 'super ban'... that, and laser vision.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 30th, 2008, 08:41 AM
tsella's Avatar
tsella tsella is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 452
Default

nicely done! iBog video tutorials FTW!
__________________
-- tsella

blog - http://blog.boxee.tv
twitter - http://twitter.com/tsella http://twitter.com/boxee
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 30th, 2008, 07:22 PM
jamesfoster jamesfoster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 177
Default

nice. way to spread the love. can't wait to see more.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 31st, 2008, 11:49 PM
pictor pictor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

forgive the ignorance, I am not that familiar with setting up networking. When I go to my system prefs, there is nothing in the workgroup picklist. No options, no text. I can type in the word workgroup, but if I click ok, and go back in, it's blank again.

How do I get the workgroup value set?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 1st, 2008, 10:30 AM
iBog iBog is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 325
Default

Make sure the lock in the bottom left corner is unlocked before you make edits.

Otherwise, you may have a similar problem I had. If you delete the profile and recreate it everything will be fine. I don't know how it got corrupt.

Also, make sure you're editing the WINS values for the correct network connection (ethernet or wifi selected on the left side)

Last edited by iBog; November 1st, 2008 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 1st, 2008, 11:12 AM
pictor pictor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Default

it is unlocked.

I am not sure what you mean by delete the profile. Built in ethernet is the only active connection....do you mean delete that profile?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 1st, 2008, 11:23 AM
iBog iBog is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 325
Default

Bfore you go into advanced, select the dropdown list for locations. Click edit. Create a new location and delete the other one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.