boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > hey, we're in Beta now > Boxee Beta Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 10th, 2010, 06:18 AM
abhijeet abhijeet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default Samba shares stop working after playback

The first time I play a file from a samba share, I am able to do so successfully. When the video stops playing, I get one of the two behaviors:

1) Constantly see - Loading Error: failed to retrieve data
2) Boxee hangs

In either care, I have to restart Boxee to play another file.

Also, when I map the share as a network drive, Boxee *always* hangs after stopping playback.

I didn't experience this with the 0.9.20.9647 beta build but the official beta just doesn't handle samba shares well at all.

Running an Acer Aspire Revo 330 on Win 7 Home Premium.
Samba shares on a homebrew Core 2 Duo with Win 7 Pro.
Everything is shared using the Win 7 homegroup feature.

I have now gone back to the 9647 build, which has worked beautifully for me so far. Somewhere along the line, the samba connectivity seems to have gone off the rails.

What really worries me is that if I had never tried the leaked beta, I would have thought that the beta was total crap, which is what many more people are probably thinking right now. At least with the leaked beta, I know that at some point things were close to being perfect.

Thanks for working so hard on this guys, I've really enjoyed Boxee the last one year. I'll just stick with the leaked beta build
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 10th, 2010, 08:07 AM
gvegastiger gvegastiger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Default

They are having all kinds of problems with network shares. I don't know whats going on with it, but we haven't heard anything on teh boards about it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 10th, 2010, 10:48 AM
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orbiting Venus
Posts: 2,113
Default

I've been reporting similar issues via http://jira.boxee.tv/browse/BOXEE-4118 since the evening of this release. I've been updating it with comments pointing back to posts that describe similar or related issues. I'm guessing that this is probably near the top of the devs list to fix... but don't know for sure.
__________________
Boxee beta 0.9.21.11487 on: HP TouchSmart 600xt/Windows 7 x64; HP dv6505/Windows 7 x86; and HP m8400f Vista x86 HTPC running Intelliremote, Orb, SageTV 7 beta, and AirVideo, connected to Olevia 247 TFHD and Onyko TX-SR606 all controlled with a Harmony 550 and last but not least, an HP EX490 MediaSmart Server/WHS/7TB for storage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 10th, 2010, 04:39 PM
abhijeet abhijeet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
I've been reporting similar issues via http://jira.boxee.tv/browse/BOXEE-4118 since the evening of this release. I've been updating it with comments pointing back to posts that describe similar or related issues. I'm guessing that this is probably near the top of the devs list to fix... but don't know for sure.
Thanks for adding a link to this thread! I hope they get this fixed soon. Not playing networked media makes Boxee totally unusable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
network share, samba

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.