boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > boxee for appletv help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #571  
Old March 20th, 2010, 09:41 AM
maximusfacq's Avatar
maximusfacq maximusfacq is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 560
Default

@wgoosey

It's usually been an all or nothing thing for most folks. At least, that's what I have been reading. In my personal experience, it was either that all shares would be in a "Connected" or "Not Connected" state. Is there anything unique about the files in those shares that won't mount? Do those shares have different permissions? Have you tried a repair with the MacOS X Disk Utility? Trying to think of other things you could test, but drawing a blank atm...
__________________
Running Latest ver. 0.9.21.12563 on MBP:
AppleTV (3.0.1 Firmware)1GHz/256MB/46" Sharp Aquos 1080p/ Sony 7.1 STR-DG800/NVidia 7300 Go (Purch. 3/13/09) (Hacked MacOS Beta 0.9.21.11487)
MacBook Pro 10.6.2 (Snow Leoppard) Core2Duo 2.2G/4GB/17"WS/Nvidia8600M
Linux Ubuntu 9.10 (Karmic Koala) P4 3.4G/2GB/22"WS Gateway/Nvidia7600GT
i7 920/6GB/23"WS Samsung/Win7 Pro 64/XFX Radeon 5770
Streaming (SMB) from:
unRAID NAS Server Pentium D 820/2GB/Intel PRO/1000 PM 6TB Disk (4TB Data/2TB Parity)
Reply With Quote
  #572  
Old March 25th, 2010, 01:15 PM
sree333_d sree333_d is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Looking at the firefoxscript the name is decieving. It actually will get and install wget if you don't have it. You can also use it to install VNC and transmission....which is awesome!

Can't wait to get home and try it out tonight. I moved the ATV to our bedroom so we can use it as a DVR (I have a PC running Boxee Beta that is connected to our main tv in the living room). Can't wait to get it working!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vcosta View Post
Perfect!

Thank you very much for this guide. It worked 10/10

Just something about my previous installation the BOXEE folder was no longer on the /Users/frontrow/ folder but on /Applications instead. Renamed it manually using Cyberduck.

Boxee is faster than ever. Thank you again.

Peace!
Reply With Quote
  #573  
Old April 16th, 2010, 04:27 PM
Bob83 Bob83 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default Thanks Jim :)

Thanks Jim for wonderful explanation, there are very few people in this world who actually takes efforts to actually makes the other person understand who to do the configuration settings, thank again for the post, keep up the good work of educating the non technical persons like me
__________________
Regards,
Used ATV For Sale
Reply With Quote
  #574  
Old December 24th, 2010, 06:29 AM
techker techker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

any updates for ATV 2G?
Reply With Quote
  #575  
Old December 24th, 2010, 12:00 PM
seand5018 seand5018 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by techker View Post
any updates for ATV 2G?
You do get that the ATV 2G is a totally different OS from the old one right. ATV 2G is iphone in a box. You are more likely to see GTA Chinatown Wars on it before you see Boxee on it as a result.
Reply With Quote
  #576  
Old February 12th, 2011, 05:50 PM
nuggyblake nuggyblake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The South - USA
Posts: 692
Send a message via Skype? to nuggyblake
Default ATV installation 2011

I figured this might be needed in 2011 as a lot of people are still using their ATV first gen to run Boxee and XBMC.

I started this a few weeks ago and just finished it;

1. Plug in the ATV and boot it up. If its a year or so old, you will be probably have ATV OS ver 2.x with a older version of boxee and XBMC. Or it is newly acquired from ebay etc.
2. Pointing your ATV remote, press Menu and the minus (-) together until your ATV reboots and light flashes amber.
3. Once it boots, select English and then Factory restore.
4.This will wipe what you have and create a fresh ATV with frontrow etc.
5. Under Settings, select Update Software (spinning wheel).
6. This may take a few minutes, but your atv will re-boot and Frontrow with look different (you now have ATV OS ver 3.0.2).
7. Now we need to get a flash drive and create a patchstick. I recommend creating it on a mac. Download the following and follow the instructions to the T.

http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/

Not all Flash drives work, so if you get a failure, try another patchstick.

http://forums.boxee.tv/archive/index.php/t-1240.html

8. Shut down the ATV (hard shutdown. Insert the flash drive and re-boot. Once finished, shut down ATV unplug flashdrive, re-boot ATV).
9. If it worked, you will two new menu items, Software Menu and Launcher.
10. Under Software Menu, select 3rd Party. You may need to select "Check for Updates. Once you do this, a bunch of items will appear below. Locate NitoTV and Install it. Once finished, under Software Menu, select "Restart Finder" your ATV will re-boot. A new Menu item NitoTV appears.
11. Under Launcher, download and install the latest launcher, download Boxee, then download XBMC Dharma (if you wish - optional, but XBMC is a must if you want to maximise your use of this device).
12. Once done, in NitoTV, under Settings, Install Software, run SMART Installer. This will download the 10.4.9 recovery.dmg and copy it into ~/Frontrow/Documents/. This will enable the USB host drive and allow you to hook up an external HD/ flashdrive to the ATV via the usb drive.
13. Once done, within Nito, Settings, Install Software, select install Flash.
14. Once all this is done, in Software Menu, ldisable ATV OS updates (you can do this within Nito Also under Settings).
15. At this point you can use SMB (samba) protocol to access the HD on your ATV. For networking to your ATV (the SMB part also works for the boxee box also), check the following post;

http://forums.boxee.tv/showpost.php?...03&postcount=3

16. At this point you should be able to hook up a mac journaled HD to the USB port of your mac and point boxee/ XBMC to it.
__________________
General ATV troubleshooting info - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1551
Switching between wired and wireless ATV connection - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2822
Use Boxee Browser to check your flash version- enter http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

AppleTV 2 WIP http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...l_XBMC_on_ATV2
Current ATV installation instructions - http://forums.boxee.tv/showpost.php?...37&postcount=6

Last edited by nuggyblake; February 14th, 2011 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #577  
Old February 14th, 2011, 07:59 PM
appletv1 appletv1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default

I might be duplicating any questions and I have tried searching around for answers before I post this..I couldn't find any satisfactory answer so I am posting my question.

I have a Apple TV 3.0 and it have a small USB Port (mini USB) and I do not have any USB sticks that can fit into this. I want to try Boxee on my ATV. Can some one send me a step-by-step instructions on how to do this? This is my first experience with ATV and Boxee. Also how to get around this mini USB port on ATV?
Reply With Quote
  #578  
Old February 14th, 2011, 08:17 PM
nuggyblake nuggyblake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The South - USA
Posts: 692
Send a message via Skype? to nuggyblake
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by appletv1 View Post
I might be duplicating any questions and I have tried searching around for answers before I post this..I couldn't find any satisfactory answer so I am posting my question.

I have a Apple TV 3.0 and it have a small USB Port (mini USB) and I do not have any USB sticks that can fit into this. I want to try Boxee on my ATV. Can some one send me a step-by-step instructions on how to do this? This is my first experience with ATV and Boxee. Also how to get around this mini USB port on ATV?
It is currently not possible to install boxee on this generation of the ATV. It is possible (I have one) to jailbreak and install XBMC on it.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...l_XBMC_on_ATV2
__________________
General ATV troubleshooting info - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1551
Switching between wired and wireless ATV connection - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2822
Use Boxee Browser to check your flash version- enter http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

AppleTV 2 WIP http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...l_XBMC_on_ATV2
Current ATV installation instructions - http://forums.boxee.tv/showpost.php?...37&postcount=6
Reply With Quote
  #579  
Old February 16th, 2011, 07:06 PM
poyntek poyntek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 6
Default Boxee on Apple TV2 like XBMC?

Is there any chance we may see a version of Boxee to install on Apple TV2 or the iPad like XBMC is doing now? Check out my blog for more info...
__________________
Kevin Poynter

Check out my blog:

Kevin's World of Technology Adventures
Reply With Quote
  #580  
Old May 27th, 2011, 01:37 AM
Pamela Li Pamela Li is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Default

perfect thx for guiding me...............
__________________
spam links begone!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.