boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > general boxee help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old January 23rd, 2010, 09:31 AM
NomadDNA NomadDNA is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Heights, OH
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by different computers View Post
Since this works for Mac users, I assume DirectX is not required for them, since there is no such thing as DirectX for Mac. Not that I can find anyway.
Yep, you're correct: DX is specifically for windows.
__________________
Questions? Click on a piece of flare first:

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old January 24th, 2010, 07:48 AM
StevenR StevenR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NomadDNA View Post
Ahh... progress!

So, I finally was able to enter a code that terminal didn't reject in OSX:

Code:
ln -s "/Volumes/Users/[myusername]/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/skhtemsz.default/cookies.sqlite /Volumes/Users/[myusername]/Library/Application Support/BOXEE/UserData/profiles/nomaddna/browser/cookies.sqlite"
I needed to add quotation marks because the space in "Application Support" confused terminal...

Nevertheless, despite the progress, Boxee still wont auto-login to Hulu. :\
If you haven't solved it, it looks like you have the quotes around the whole thing and not around each of the paths. In fact, you don't actually need quotes in Mac OS X you can escape a space in a path by using a backslash so the command would be:

Code:
ln -s /Volumes/Users/[myusername]/Library/Application\ Support/Firefox/Profiles/skhtemsz.default/cookies.sqlite /Volumes/Users/[myusername]/Library/Application\ Support/BOXEE/UserData/profiles/nomaddna/browser/cookies.sqlite
Also, Boxee will not pick up the cookies if Firefox is running - closing all the Firefox windows is not enough you actually need to quit it before starting Boxee.

Last edited by StevenR; January 24th, 2010 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old January 25th, 2010, 03:23 PM
NomadDNA NomadDNA is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Heights, OH
Posts: 1,153
Default

Props to Jaaps; This thread has been cited on Lifehacker.com and Mashable

http://mashable.com/2010/01/24/boxee-beta-tips/
http://lifehacker.com/5456319/access...ntent-on-boxee
__________________
Questions? Click on a piece of flare first:

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old January 27th, 2010, 01:17 AM
gitanojr gitanojr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default question??

Ok this is my first post and probably the last one just register to ask this...

What's the diference between boxee and hulu??

Why would I use boxee over hulu??
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old April 9th, 2010, 07:51 AM
prupert prupert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gitanojr View Post
Ok this is my first post and probably the last one just register to ask this...

What's the diference between boxee and hulu??

Why would I use boxee over hulu??
I was directed to this thread to fix the Age Verification thing in You Tube, and it seemed to work (although I haven't figured out if I need to watch the whole video in FF first, before I can watch the whole thing in Boxee - currently the video cuts out after half an hour, even though it is 1hr 40 mins long - maybe it is a Boxee issue, I'll look at the logs).

Anyway, just wanted to say, talk about failing at your first post. I simple search on Boxee in Google leads to:

www.boxee.tv

Which tells you what Boxee is.....basically, it is a media centre for viewing videos on your local drive and for easily accessing online content as well, including Hulu, YouTube, vimeo, BBC iPlayer etc. IT IS AWESOME.

I know this is rehashing an old thread, but I wanted to highlight the use in You Tube as well and also lol at the above post
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old April 16th, 2010, 07:57 AM
kcc1982 kcc1982 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 48
Default

This does not seem to work anymore in the new release. There seems to be no cookies.sqllite in the boxee folder. Any plans for a future work around?
__________________
How I run it:
Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala on a Shuttle SN78SH7
OPENGL Cranked Way Up
AMD Quad Core Black Edition
HDMI out on NVIDIA 8200
2 Gigs of ram & a 1.5 terabyte drive
46" Sharp Aquos
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old April 22nd, 2010, 12:13 AM
mercado79 mercado79 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcc1982 View Post
This does not seem to work anymore in the new release. There seems to be no cookies.sqllite in the boxee folder. Any plans for a future work around?
Just setting this up for the first time (using the new version of Boxee) on a Acer Revo. This is still working for me (no missing sqllite file).
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 12:21 PM
kcc1982 kcc1982 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Will investigate further. Since it is friday I was going to stay in and upgrade my linux BoxeeBox to 9.10.
__________________
How I run it:
Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala on a Shuttle SN78SH7
OPENGL Cranked Way Up
AMD Quad Core Black Edition
HDMI out on NVIDIA 8200
2 Gigs of ram & a 1.5 terabyte drive
46" Sharp Aquos
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old May 8th, 2010, 11:20 AM
amaxey amaxey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

This looks interesting, but is it applicable to my Apple TV? If not can someone point me in the right direction? I've already installed Boxee and I've been able to locate a way to install Firefox on my ATV at http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Firefox. I'm a little stumped already though because I'm green enough that I don't quite get Apple's director structure. I've ssh'd into the ATV and I'm using this command to copy the dmg to the current ATV directory -

cp -r /Macintosh_HD/Users/Andy/Downloads/Firefox_3.6.3.dmg Firefox_3.6.3.dmg

Suggestions anyone? Thanks for your help.

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old June 19th, 2010, 07:54 PM
nrune nrune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 84
Default

For those who are sick of cookies expiring with this hack I made a script to login to hulu every Sunday to keep the cookie alive.

for linux...

crontab -e

Code:
0 3 * * 1 DISPLAY=:0 /home/mike/hululogin
this will run the hululogin script at 3am on the first day of the week.

hululogin

Code:
firefox www.hulu.com &
sleep 11
killall firefox-bin
Best wishes.

Last edited by nrune; July 5th, 2010 at 08:12 AM. Reason: correction of crontab command
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.