boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > hey, we're in Beta now > Boxee Beta Issues

View Poll Results: Is OpenSubtitles.org download service working for you, after patching?
Yes. 6 33.33%
Nope. 6 33.33%
Sometimes. 5 27.78%
I don't know. 1 5.56%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 13th, 2010, 11:30 PM
2ge 2ge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 20
Lightbulb OpenSubtitles.org problems explained

Hi all,

I am admin of opensubtitles.org, and also happy user of Boxee. I am looking for BoxeeBox, and when I was developing opensubtitles.org, one of my dream was to have mediaplayer, which will work like now - I click and see available subtitles.

I know, the functionality of opensubtitles in boxee is broken. It has various reasons.

1. I give to all clients same host: api.opensubtitles.org - which is wrong, because currently, it is quite difficult scale the power of servers
2. The most resources right now takes BS.Player, I would say 90%, I give them also another API host, but it takes time to update all clients.
3. by all of that, in peak times, API have to handle more than 10.000 clients, which is for now, quite difficult. We are in the process of adding 2 more servers for API, and also moving database to SSD hdd, but all of this is question of money.

So, for me, when I saw Fixing opensubtitles bug by removing opensubtitles support, I was quite surprised, but on other way, I understand.

I am in contact with Boxee developers, but also think users deserve know, what's going behind.

The truth is, opensubtitles.org is generating no profit from using its API. This is fact for now. I am open (and it is already set up, so everything, what needs to be done, is just changing HOST in source code) to any donations for server, so API for boxee users will be running smooth and will have dedicated server.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 15th, 2010, 04:28 AM
2ge 2ge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 20
Thumbs up

update:

I never programmed in python, but somehow I manage to post a patch to http://jira.boxee.tv/browse/BOXEE-5500 - as I said, I am boxee user for now, so I really like to see opensubtitles working in boxee

I am attaching patch files, and also patched files, so everybody should enjoy this, until it gets to next release (I hope).

In Archive.zip you will find these files:

gui.py and osdb.py - just rewrite with these files original ones, on Mac OSX you can find them @ /Applications/Boxee.app/Contents/Resources/Boxee/scripts/OpenSubtitles/resources/lib

gui.py.patch and osdb.py.patch - patch files...(you don't need to do nothing with these, just if you are curious, what I've changed). I changed couple of things:
  1. timeout set to 10 seconds
  2. set new host for boxee
  3. set other hosts (fever 301 redirects)
  4. call valid LogIn() on osdb server, ostok on boxee returns sometimes empty token, or timeout

As I said, I am happy boxee and opensubtitles are friends together - at least at my home
Attached Files
File Type: zip Archive.zip (7.0 KB, 436 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 15th, 2010, 10:15 AM
dadein dadein is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 377
Default

I just tried this on a few movies and it seems to be working again, after not working for a long time. Thank-you.

Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 15th, 2010, 10:18 AM
Rulo Rulo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 372
Default

This is a great feature of Boxee; I hope you can get it working again in the next build.
__________________
Boxee Box as Follow
AMD Athlon II X2 240 Regor 2.8GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
GA-MA785GM-US2H AM2+ 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD MOBO
OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066
Onboard ATI Radeon HD 4200 GPU (CCC 11.01)
DIAMOND ATI TV Wonder HD 650 Combo Tuner
WD Caviar Black 640 GB, SATA 3 Gb/s, 32 MB Cache, 7200 RPM
ASUS Black 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner
CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W
Rosewill WMC RRC-127 Remote control
IOGEAR GKM561R Keyboard
Windows 7 Ultimate 32 (Media Center)
Boxee 0.9.23.15885
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 19th, 2010, 02:33 PM
misterLietaert misterLietaert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Hi

I successfully patched both files, but I still get the 'unable to connect' message...
Maybe the servers are still fully loaded of overloaded, or could it have to do something with my location (Belgium)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 19th, 2010, 03:22 PM
dadein dadein is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterLietaert View Post
Hi

I successfully patched both files, but I still get the 'unable to connect' message...
Maybe the servers are still fully loaded of overloaded, or could it have to do something with my location (Belgium)?
@2ge, this is failing again today for me too.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 19th, 2010, 04:21 PM
iraebrasil iraebrasil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I've never been able to use opensubtitles in boxee.

I'm glad that people are working on it.

I see the problem with the URL changing. This kind of problem could be avoided in the future by not hardcoding the API on the sourcecode. Boxee already logs in every time we open it, so when it does Boxee could check if there are new configurations to be downloaded. This way none of the functionality that depends on online APIs would need a new build or a patch to be fixed if some service changes.

In other thread one user requested to have the ability to login in opensubtitles via boxee with his registered account. I was imagining if Boxee could possibily do that the same way it does with twitter and facebook. Is it possible? Is there a benefit in doing that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 21st, 2010, 02:01 AM
2ge 2ge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 20
Default

@dadein: please, when you get timeouts, try this

- make sure www.opensubtitles.org is working, for example yeaterday we was doing some backups, and in the night is all the site turned off for 30 minutes.
- try again

timeouts on new host normally shouldn't happen.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 07:57 PM
malmeida malmeida is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 62
Default

It would be a pitty to see boxee give up on one of its killer features for non-english speakers: the ability to quickly download subtitles.


I don't know if the idea is to forget about this feature completely, but anyway: wouldn't restricting the subtitle query to only some languages help in terms of the site's server workload?

I always thought a good idea would be to:
1) Have the option to select 1-3 languages in the settings. I really don't care if there are russian or hebrew subtitles, I don't speak it

2) Perhaps have the option to auto-download the subtitles if they are synced (say, when the show/film is being recognized in boxee).

Just my 2 cents
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 08:11 PM
dadein dadein is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2ge View Post
@dadein: please, when you get timeouts, try this

- make sure www.opensubtitles.org is working, for example yeaterday we was doing some backups, and in the night is all the site turned off for 30 minutes.
- try again

timeouts on new host normally shouldn't happen.
Looks like was trying to do this while you were doing your backups.

Works fine today!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
opensubtitles, subtitles, timeout

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.