Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 183

Thread: Boxee Box Say's it is not connected to internet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default Boxee Box Say's it is not connected to internet

    Ok, I bought the boxee box yesterday. I worked on it for a few hours last night. I called support - no help there, they are calling me back tonight with a "LEVEL 3" support.

    It tries to connect to the internet ( 7 dancing yellow cube screen) and fails.

    I tried wireless and wired ( the wire is from my working xbox). I can see the boxee box mac address in the status screen of my router. So I know the wire is fine.

    I did the hold the power down for 20 seconds and got the red Boxee logo ( red,red,red,green,...). I restarted it and I got the same thing - can not connect to internet.

    I got frustrated so left it running for a while.

    I came back to it after an hour. It still could not find the internet but all of a sudden it starts working OFFLINE so I went to the system tools and I find that the firmware has been updated to 9.21.14 (something). So it must have go online to do that. I started watching a movie to see how it looked and after about 5 minutes the movie is interrupted by " Can't connect to internet".

    It seems to me that it connects to the internet intermittently.

    Can any one help (point me to something that can't be found with google) or is there a HW problem here?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation

    I'm having online connection issues as well. I bought the device yesterday at BestBuy and when I tried connecting it to my D-Link Wireless G router, Boxee says it has connected to my wireless network, but can't connect to the Internet.

    My Internet is working, so I don't know what's wrong. I did notice that if I disable putting a passcode to my network, I can connect online.

    Could somebody please provide some input? Do I need to upgrade to a Wireless N router?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I had a similar issue last night with getting my wireless connected. You won't need to upgrade to wireless-n on your router because the wireless N card in the boxee box is backwards compatible with G and B.
    I had hardwired mine in hope that the update would resolve the wireless issue but haven't had luck I event went as far as going into the configuration and manually settings my bssid and static ip info.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default

    OK, it's not just me. I hope it is not a HW issue because the Best Buy where I got it is now out of stock. Fingers crossed that the FW update will fix it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by JuniorIII View Post
    OK, it's not just me. I hope it is not a HW issue because the Best Buy where I got it is now out of stock. Fingers crossed that the FW update will fix it.
    I hope so too. Very frustrating that this happening to some people. Anyone else with suggestions/solutions?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I've left mine on with a wired internet connection. Hopefully they can update it and it will work.

    I have a "Level 3" tech calling me at 7:00 pm est. I'll let you know how it goes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Same Problem

    I have to toss my hat in as well. I just unboxed it and it will not connect to my Netgear Wireless-N router after several attempts. I know it is working properly because I just hooked up a new laptop to the same network in order to troubleshoot.

    I purchased a wireless to wired ethernet adapter for use with my Xbox 360, so I'll have to give that a shot and wait until they come out with a software update to fix the problem. My feeling is that it is a firmware issue and not a hardware issue.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I'm having the same problem as well - wired connection works, wireless will not connect (to a DLink DIR-825). Have been talking to support with no resolution.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Add another hat.

    I'm on a Time Machine, have tons of wireless devices hooked up, no problem.

    However, once I turn on Boxee Box, my Time Machine loses its internet connection from my DSL modem. Everything connected to the Time Machine drops. Internet gone. Kaput.

    Same thing happens when I turn off Boxee Box.

    Every once in a while, connection is restored to the internet. But Boxee Box can't really recognize this - I'm unable to add any Apps at all because Boxee Box cuts off my internet connection once I turn it on, then once internet is restore, Boxee can't for the life of it get the Apps back on board.

    Bit of a mess.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Sorry but the wireless on this is junk.

    I have been trying to connect for hours to this box only to find that either there is a network password length limit or it doesn't accept certain characters. It wouldn't tell me my password was invalid though. The box would kick me back saying it couldnt connect then it wouldnt find any networks and ethernet wouldnt work till I restarted the device. If I tried again the device would lock up. If I tried again it would not see devices and this cycle continued even through tech support who were clueless.

    Add to that, the wireless signal even 5 feet away is 1 bar when all my other devices even 50 feet away get full bars.

    Finally, I cant even connect to the content on my Windows 7 machine. Boxee Box keeps asking for a username and password. I tried my login for that computer, tried the login for Boxee, tried the login for that computer but the Homegroup password and then tried disabling password protection on the computer altogether and nothing works. It doesnt even reject the login info, it just keeps asking for it over and over...

    How the heck do you connect to shared content on a Windows 7 machine? The content was shared with the Homegroup at first but since then I have changed it to shared with everyone.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2011, 03:23 PM
  2. Wireless network connected, but can't connect to the internet
    By derekpunsalan in forum general boxee help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 18th, 2010, 11:17 PM
  3. Boxee Box Say's it is not connected to internet
    By JuniorIII in forum general boxee help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: November 12th, 2010, 06:21 AM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 27th, 2010, 08:02 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2008, 05:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •