boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > announcements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old November 12th, 2010, 09:30 AM
stevo81989 stevo81989 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojo6911 View Post
To be fair, all of this was promised. Netflix is still shown as a "partner" at the bottom of the official website. Blatent false advertising, IMO.
Its still available on the software version and will be available on the boxee box within a month or 2. Its not false advertising if half of the supported platforms support it...I guess :/
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old November 12th, 2010, 09:32 AM
stevo81989 stevo81989 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newboxeeuser View Post
Looks like the new 1.0 update VUDU is also now a missing feature.

http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=21865
I guess they had a last second set back from vudu. According to Avner it is coming very soon, so hopefully within a week...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old November 12th, 2010, 09:32 AM
l0th l0th is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 235
Default

Feature missing:

_ search local media

Apps missing:

_ last.fm (to me that's a big one, it means the box doesn't scrobble)
_ French TV
_ France TÚlÚvisions

Show missing:

_ Grey's anatomy (and I suspect a bunch of other ABC shows that are not on ABC Australia)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old November 12th, 2010, 09:36 AM
stevo81989 stevo81989 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 309
Default Missing backgrounding video

Surprised no one mentioned this. unless I am just a complete idiot, you cant play a video in the background. This is very good for things like watching baseball or hockey. During a commercial i would often hit the back button to look at scores of other games, even go into the twitter app and check some updates all while the video played in the background. Once the commercial was over, you could obviously tell when the game was back on, so you go into the video and pick it back up.

This may not be an issue with other video sources, but for baseball specifically, it is. last year MLB.TV didnt actually show commercials. it was a blue animated screen saying "Commercial is in progress". no sound, no nothing. I would honestly prefer a commercial, but none the less it is a good time to check up on other games. Any word on this?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old November 12th, 2010, 10:06 AM
haveringcottage haveringcottage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 240
Default

you can add
  • No manual "mark as watched"
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old November 12th, 2010, 10:07 AM
newboxeeuser newboxeeuser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Interesting, I never used background video but /i will add that and missing search missing.

Was the French/Australian stuff in Boxee .9 but not 1.0 ?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old November 12th, 2010, 10:14 AM
haveringcottage haveringcottage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 240
Default

you can also add

No "frequent" monitoring of new local content (regression)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old November 12th, 2010, 10:17 AM
newboxeeuser newboxeeuser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Will add all that too. Looks like the same "identify video" functionality of the PC version is semi-broken on Boxee Box now too:

http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=21884
http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=21883
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old November 12th, 2010, 10:19 AM
haveringcottage haveringcottage is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 240
Default

yeah i responded in that other thread... i am confused as to how this could have been made worse?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old November 12th, 2010, 11:39 AM
l0th l0th is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newboxeeuser View Post
Interesting, I never used background video but /i will add that and missing search missing.

Was the French/Australian stuff in Boxee .9 but not 1.0 ?
The apps for French stuff was available through the fuzzthed repository. That repository is still there but a number of apps are gone.

There's a confusion about the Australian stuff: Grey's Anatomy which is an ABC show used to be available but no longer is. It still shows in my Favorite Shows but it doesn't show any episode when you get in there. I was just pointing out that this show is not available through ABC Australia which IS on 1.0 (I'm actually not even sure that ABC and ABC Australia are from the same company)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.