boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > Boxee Box help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old November 12th, 2010, 03:08 PM
pcgizzmo pcgizzmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Default

What were trying to do is backwards from what others have had issues with. We want to access the Boxee and others wanted to access their media on a Window7 machine or XP.

When I turned on file sharing in the Boxee and gave it a password it seemed to me that there should be a place to specify the resources you want to share. TreeBeard has eluded to that but I can't find anywhere that you do this.

The only options I see are hostname, password, turn sharing on or off and that's it.

Also, above the sharing selection there seems to be browser access to the boxee box but I haven't been able to make it work. Have you guy's tried it?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 12th, 2010, 03:49 PM
TreeBeard TreeBeard is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcgizzmo View Post
What were trying to do is backwards from what others have had issues with. We want to access the Boxee and others wanted to access their media on a Window7 machine or XP.

When I turned on file sharing in the Boxee and gave it a password it seemed to me that there should be a place to specify the resources you want to share. TreeBeard has eluded to that but I can't find anywhere that you do this.

The only options I see are hostname, password, turn sharing on or off and that's it.

Also, above the sharing selection there seems to be browser access to the boxee box but I haven't been able to make it work. Have you guy's tried it?
That's what I'm referring to, accessing Boxee's SMB shared external drives. It works fine.

Step 1: Enable Windows File Sharing in Boxee network menu

Step 2: Connect to smb://boxeebox

Step 3: Browse files

It works fine everytime, no password required, no additional configuration. However, access is readonly, I have been unable to gain write access to any drive connected to the Box.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 12th, 2010, 03:56 PM
pcgizzmo pcgizzmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TreeBeard View Post
That's what I'm referring to, accessing Boxee's SMB shared external drives. It works fine.

Step 1: Enable Windows File Sharing in Boxee network menu

Step 2: Connect to smb://boxeebox

Step 3: Browse files

It works fine everytime, no password required, no additional configuration. However, access is readonly, I have been unable to gain write access to any drive connected to the Box.
Maybe I'm messing up on the connect. I'm in Windows so I right click "My Computer" and then select "Map Network Drive"

Your typing smb://boxeebox from a command line? I've never done this on a Windows machine. I've used the net use command or are you using linux?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 12th, 2010, 04:08 PM
dconti dconti is offline
team boxee
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 213
Default

when you map a network drive with windows you need to know the share name and the hostname.

the best way to start this is open a cmd prompt and do:

net view \\boxeebox

that should list out shares, then you can mount a specific one.
you should also be able to browse 'workgroup' in your network and see the boxee box listed there
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 12th, 2010, 04:45 PM
NSB NSB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TreeBeard View Post
That's what I'm referring to, accessing Boxee's SMB shared external drives. It works fine.

Step 1: Enable Windows File Sharing in Boxee network menu

Step 2: Connect to smb://boxeebox

Step 3: Browse files

It works fine everytime, no password required, no additional configuration. However, access is readonly, I have been unable to gain write access to any drive connected to the Box.
Thanks for that! Boxee is now showing up in my finder. Like you, I can't add things to the connected drive. My computer I can get to show up if I manually enter the address, but I'm not sure it's scraping and finding anything. But I guess it's a start.

Neil

Last edited by NSB; November 12th, 2010 at 05:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old November 12th, 2010, 08:16 PM
dimaspivak dimaspivak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Yay, I also got it to connect to the drive plugged into the Box! Thanks for the help, guys. Now if anyone figures out how to have it write as well as read, let us know!

-Dima
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old November 12th, 2010, 08:30 PM
Nall Nall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33
Default

When you guys say you can't write to it, do you mean you can't write *anything* to it? Or that you can't write large files? I can connect to the SMB share without an issue but the box only thinks the drive has 300MB free on it. I can upload hundreds of 100 meg files to it without changing the free space, but nothing larger.

It seems to be sending the box's onboard space as the free space for the connected drive.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old November 12th, 2010, 10:46 PM
pcgizzmo pcgizzmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Default

Still no luck. I keep getting error 53 access denied.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old November 12th, 2010, 11:09 PM
gmd024 gmd024 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by king.incar View Post
i am able to connect to the drive connected to the box but its (read only) is there a way to read and write?

O.F: is it just me or can you only use one external drive? i have 2 connected and it will only read one... :/
In 'Sharing' and "security" settings - you can specify 'R' and/or R/W (at least in W7--haven't used other OSs for a long time to remember how they work)

If your USB HDDs are not externally powered, then the BBox can only access ONE USB powered HDD - if you connect TWO self powered HDDs, no problem -- and if you use a powered USB Hub, you can use multiple HDDs - powered or not

Last edited by gmd024; November 12th, 2010 at 11:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old November 12th, 2010, 11:35 PM
Nall Nall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33
Default

Even only one SD card connected to the box I still can't write more than 300 megs at a time over SMB, it simply refuses to accept that there is more room available on whatever I have connected.

Edit: It's actually 190 megs now, so it's definitely using the BoxeeBox's onboard space as the available space for all connected devices.

Last edited by Nall; November 12th, 2010 at 11:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
boxee box, smb, smb user password problem, ubuntu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.