boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > Boxee Box help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 12th, 2010, 04:13 AM
kungfu71186 kungfu71186 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 30
Default Boxee Box Freezing

I've been trying to play some videos from an external hard drive. No matter what video i try, it freezes boxee box completely. I have to hard reset it. I have DVD5, mkv, m2ts, avi, etc.. When i try to play any of them they freeze. The hard drive is formatted as NTFS as its a 500GB hard drive and some of the videos are 7GB and above. Anyone having the same issues or know how to resolve this.

I did update to the latest firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 12th, 2010, 04:38 AM
canuckle canuckle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kungfu71186 View Post
I've been trying to play some videos from an external hard drive. No matter what video i try, it freezes boxee box completely. I have to hard reset it. I have DVD5, mkv, m2ts, avi, etc.. When i try to play any of them they freeze. The hard drive is formatted as NTFS as its a 500GB hard drive and some of the videos are 7GB and above. Anyone having the same issues or know how to resolve this.

I did update to the latest firmware.
I had all sorts of problems earlier today with FW v1.0.1.16126 kept on re-applying. Got this idea from another post. I did a factory default by shutting the BB off for about 15 seconds then powered it on and held the power button down for about 10 seconds. You'll then get an onscreen menu to restore back to defaults etc. Once I did this it updated the FW to an earlier build v1.0.1.16125 and it is much more stable.

I can play any format wireless from the downstairs SMB drive including MT2S without stuttering.

I've had a few issues with some MKV's that will lock up. If I don't fast forward on those ones they are okay. They seem to lock up after a FF.
MP4 files play flawlessly.

I think when the FW kept re-applying it screwed things up. After the factory reset and the earlier build I'm MUCH better now. It was a drag to redo the WIFI settings etc...but better than it being flakey.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by canuckle; November 12th, 2010 at 04:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 12th, 2010, 07:47 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,091
Default

We had issues last night with the FW but it has been fixed ..please update to the latest version 1.0.1.16125 and should solve all your issues
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 12th, 2010, 12:27 PM
kungfu71186 kungfu71186 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 30
Default

So, i formatted the hard drive and after that it seemed to play a few of the files. What was happening is when it tried to load any file it would freeze. Boxee also froze when trying to connect to the wireless. I have no clue why. I will mess around with it more today. So far i am happy with it.

It's 10x better than any other box out there. I tried the popbox and i figured it be something like this, some hurdles to cross, but that was def alpha stage.

This is beta stage and it works nicely, its fast.

Now to try out the networking with windows 7 as i heard a lot of people were having problems with permissions and what not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.