boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > announcements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old January 27th, 2011, 10:53 AM
seand5018 seand5018 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 441
Default

I'm stuck. In Cyberduck on a Mac if you are logged in via FTP you can "get info" on an individual file to change a particular file's read/write permissions. Don't know about the equivalent on Putty.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old January 27th, 2011, 11:27 AM
nuggyblake nuggyblake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The South - USA
Posts: 671
Send a message via Skype? to nuggyblake
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by seand5018 View Post
I'm stuck. In Cyberduck on a Mac if you are logged in via FTP you can "get info" on an individual file to change a particular file's read/write permissions. Don't know about the equivalent on Putty.
I found the easiest way to do this is to issue the following cmds via ssh (terminal) - You can also issue single SSH commands with cyberduck etc).

sudo mount -uw /
sudo touch /.readwrite
sudo sync

Keep the session open (although this should keep it readwrite)

Then open cyberduck etc and change the permissions of the files that you want to delete etc.

I recognize you can also issue chmod for specific files etc within terminal, so you can do this (777 or 775 ?). I use a combo of ssh and cyberduck for ease of use speed and the fact that I have fat fingers
__________________
General ATV troubleshooting info - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1551
Switching between wired and wireless ATV connection - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2822
Use Boxee Browser to check your flash version- enter http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

AppleTV 2 WIP http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...l_XBMC_on_ATV2
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old January 27th, 2011, 11:30 AM
mynumbistongue mynumbistongue is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Default

success using sudo cp cammand thanx for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old January 27th, 2011, 12:29 PM
nuggyblake nuggyblake is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The South - USA
Posts: 671
Send a message via Skype? to nuggyblake
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mynumbistongue View Post
success using sudo cp cammand thanx for the help.
Your welcome. Good luck with Hulu.
__________________
General ATV troubleshooting info - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1551
Switching between wired and wireless ATV connection - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2822
Use Boxee Browser to check your flash version- enter http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

AppleTV 2 WIP http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...l_XBMC_on_ATV2
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old February 19th, 2011, 12:48 AM
yulee yulee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Looks like this may be useless now. As of today it seems the hulu feed option has been removed somehow from all the shows. I don't even have it as an option any more. Oh well.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old February 19th, 2011, 04:17 AM
BlackwatchPlaid BlackwatchPlaid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Default

One word. Playon

Seems to work wonders for me for the last 4 months solid, no issues going through uPnP.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old February 19th, 2011, 10:48 AM
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orbiting Venus
Posts: 7,076
Default

http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=25645 also -- you'll have to search for shows through that app via the Hulu module but it should work.
__________________
Boxee beta 0.9.23.15885 on: HP TouchSmart 600xt/Windows 7 x64 & HP m8400f Vista x86 HTPC running Intelliremote, SageTV 7.1 beta, Orb/MP-1, Subsonic, & AirVideo, with an Olevia 247TFHD & Onyko TX-SR606 with a Harmony 550. Boxee Box v1.0.4.17443 with a 32" Panasonic TC-L32X2; and finally, an HP EX490 MediaSmart Server (WHS) + MediaSonic for 12TB of storage.

Note: This is a users/community forum. For official support, fill out a Support Request. For User Guides & more, see the Support Site.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old February 22nd, 2011, 09:48 AM
chasmanian chasmanian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=25645 also -- you'll have to search for shows through that app via the Hulu module but it should work.
Thanks, Darci. Very nice!
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old March 6th, 2011, 11:31 PM
kardain kardain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=25645 also -- you'll have to search for shows through that app via the Hulu module but it should work.
The problem with this app is that it is just a band-aid to an unknown problem, and a broken band-aid one at that. Although, it's the last band-aid left in the box, so it has to work. Many more people (assuming) are accessing Boxee via a homebrew HTPC rather than the Boxee box, falling within the category of "computer", which is an allowable device for Hulu free.

Quote:
Device access. Hulu.com is a free option for users who want to watch TV shows on their computers. Hulu is limited to the PC environment. Hulu Plus enables users to watch Hulu content instantly in HD (720p) to internet-connected TVs, Blu-ray players, gaming consoles, set-top boxes, iPads, iPhones, and many other devices. (To see a full list of Hulu Plus enabled devices, please visit: Hulu Plus Device page)
Unless I'm mistaken, Boxee uses a chromeless browser to access Hulu content. And a homebrew HTPC can also function as a full fledged computer.

http://www.hulu.com/terms
Quote:
The Video Player. You may not modify, enhance, remove, interfere with, or otherwise alter in any way any portion of the Video Player, its underlying technology, any digital rights management mechanism, device, or other content protection or access control measure incorporated into the Video Player. This restriction includes, without limitation, disabling, reverse engineering, modifying, interfering with or otherwise circumventing the Video Player in any manner that enables users to view the Content without: (i) displaying visibly both the Video Player and all surrounding elements (including the graphical user interface, any advertising, copyright notices, and trademarks) of the webpage where the Video Player is located; and (ii) having full access to all functionality of the Video Player, including, without limitation, all video quality and display functionality and all interactive, elective, or click-through advertising functionality.
Aside from some content that is not displayed on the initial load due to the browser limitations, it should be well within this portion of the TOS, provided it is not being accessed by the Boxee box. Just add in a scroll bar to view all content on the page and it is even more TOS compliant.

I am quite disappointed that I must now manually hunt down and add the shows on Hulu via the bookmarklet (for so long as it still functions) with no real explanation to the Boxee community as to why it was pulled. If there were some explanation, it has been buried somewhere.

Some of the alternate feeds don't even work properly. Global is offered as the primary source for some shows, despite not having the "display stuff not in your area" unchecked, however has never worked on any of my computers. Fox overlays content on the video that cannot be removed. Several other shows are not accessible via fancast (which has also seemed to up and disappear). And others do not go full screen. Hulu does all this. And works.

If there were another HTPC software that came even close to what Boxee offers as a whole, I'd jump on that in a heartbeat, but alas.

/tangent
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old March 7th, 2011, 05:21 AM
BlackwatchPlaid BlackwatchPlaid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Default

The Playon workaround I linked to (by workaround, I mean a non-paying, free workaround) a few posts ago works fine and dandy on the Boxee Box (not using an HTPC here). Granted, you gotta have a PC running to serve it up, but access through the BB works a treat.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.