boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > Boxee Box help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old January 8th, 2011, 07:25 PM
czdaryle czdaryle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Should have a trail version. I have two that r free and both work fine
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old January 8th, 2011, 10:08 PM
xmiinc xmiinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Default

dl'd the app, setup was easy, responsiveness adequate, the on-screen Mute button is almost reason enough to own the app (if it weren't for having to wake/unlock the Android-powered phone to get at it)

where things fell down (using a Verizon-NYC droid2, Android v2.2):
the Up button is non-responsive, it can be selected but it doesn't give a yellow indicator flash when pushed, unlike the L,R, and Down buttons, and doesn't move the selection in a Boxee browser.

Interesting note: though a networked remote like this app couldn't/shouldn't be expected to mimic the hardware one when it comes to pushing a cursor around on a webpage (indeed its impossible using the app's virtual buttons) it DOES work surprisingly well when using the droid's slide-out keyboard. Select the virtual button with the arrow-keys, then repeatedly hit the Enter button on the droid to move the cursor. Multiple pushes move and even momentarily accelerate the cursor, though its overall movement remains jerky and uneven. That said, if the Up button can be activated, it *can* replace Boxee's remote in a pinch--even for clicking links on a webpage. As it is, the best thing about the app, compared to Boxee's remote, is entering text in a field--I don't have to find a light source to see what letters I'm pushing. Yay!

Good first-draft for an Android-based Boxee remote, fix the Up-button, and allow the app to be rotated, and this app will be a must-have for me!
__________________
Intel-Macmini/8Gig RAM (yes, all addressable) w/500G Seagate 7200rpm hd, 8Tb LG N4B1 NAS, hacked/Crystal'd Apple TV, Boxee Box streamer, DIR-655 N-router, iSight, dual 20" Apple flat panel

Last edited by xmiinc; January 8th, 2011 at 10:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old January 8th, 2011, 10:24 PM
neveroffline neveroffline is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmiinc View Post
dl'd the app, setup was easy, responsiveness adequate, the on-screen Mute button is almost reason enough to own the app (if it weren't for having to wake/unlock the Android-powered phone to get at it)

where things fell down (using a Verizon-NYC droid2, Android v2.2):
the Up button is non-responsive, it can be selected but it doesn't give a yellow indicator flash when pushed, unlike the L,R, and Down buttons, and doesn't move the selection in a Boxee browser.

Interesting note: though a networked remote like this app couldn't/shouldn't be expected to mimic the hardware one when it comes to pushing a cursor around on a webpage (indeed its impossible using the app's virtual buttons) it DOES work surprisingly well when using the droid's slide-out keyboard. Select the virtual button with the arrow-keys, then repeatedly hit the Enter button on the droid to move the cursor. Multiple pushes move and even momentarily accelerate the cursor, though its overall movement remains jerky and uneven. That said, if the Up button can be activated, it *can* replace Boxee's remote in a pinch--even for clicking links on a webpage. As it is, the best thing about the app, compared to Boxee's remote, is entering text in a field--I don't have to find a light source to see what letters I'm pushing. Yay!

Good first-draft for an Android-based Boxee remote, fix the Up-button, and allow the app to be rotated, and this app will be a must-have for me!
I can easily fix the Android slide unlock issue, but it will require a new permission under Android. I'm ok with this, as it is not as instant as push because you have to slide first.

The up button works, but I might move the text placement so its not as close to the Up input. It is I admit noticeable. My main goal for this placement was the center NAV button and being near it so it was a quick jump.

Thank you for your review!

Last edited by neveroffline; January 8th, 2011 at 10:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old January 8th, 2011, 10:42 PM
xmiinc xmiinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Default

My apologies, the Up button *does* indeed work...when pushing the virtual button a bit off-center. Weird though, how using the phone's hardware Enter key won't activate a "push" even so...while all the other nav-keys respond fine. I hope re-positioning the element for the Up button will allow the Enter key to activate it as it does the others. In any case, thanks for coding this app!

Quote:
Originally Posted by neveroffline View Post
I can easily fix the Android slide unlock issue, but it will require a new permission under Android. I'm ok with this, as it is not as instant as push because you have to slide first.

The up button works, but I might move the text placement so its not as close to the Up input. It is I admit noticeable. My main goal for this placement was the center NAV button and being near it so it was a quick jump.

Thank you for your review!
__________________
Intel-Macmini/8Gig RAM (yes, all addressable) w/500G Seagate 7200rpm hd, 8Tb LG N4B1 NAS, hacked/Crystal'd Apple TV, Boxee Box streamer, DIR-655 N-router, iSight, dual 20" Apple flat panel
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old January 8th, 2011, 10:49 PM
neveroffline neveroffline is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 256
Default

Good news. I have updated the source and the UP button is now fully responsive (it now has the full click area vs a somewhat limited one). You may use refresh to update - no slide lock override in this release sorry. I will get it in there.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old January 9th, 2011, 09:05 AM
xmiinc xmiinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Indeed it is! Thankyouthankyouthankyou! Very nice app...used it all evening even with a "broke" Up button. Now that its fixed, its a real v1.0!

The slide lock override isn't a big deal for me personally, but what would it take to get the screen to go into landscape view when the phone is rotated? I understand the graphic elements (ie the nav-buttons) would either have to partially disappear (or be repositioned?) but having the text field be horizontal while typing a string or a url with a slide-out keyboard would be waaay cool. Those without a slide-out keyboard would still benefit from the bigger keys (that would presumably cover the last of the on-screen graphics), and those with would seriously cut down on the last of the presspress-pause-look-at-tv 'whiplash' so prevalent with Boxee hardware remote usage.

But what you've done is great, thanks again! Tom
__________________
Intel-Macmini/8Gig RAM (yes, all addressable) w/500G Seagate 7200rpm hd, 8Tb LG N4B1 NAS, hacked/Crystal'd Apple TV, Boxee Box streamer, DIR-655 N-router, iSight, dual 20" Apple flat panel

Last edited by xmiinc; January 9th, 2011 at 09:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old January 9th, 2011, 09:09 AM
Notorious J.E.W Notorious J.E.W is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 98
Default

I haven't checked this out yet, but I will! What are the chances of gaining access to the cursor control to use your android as a touch pad? I know apps that do this generally need a locally installed software to open the mouse, but not sure if there is any other way - that would make this the perfect remote!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old January 9th, 2011, 11:22 AM
neveroffline neveroffline is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 256
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notorious J.E.W View Post
I haven't checked this out yet, but I will! What are the chances of gaining access to the cursor control to use your android as a touch pad? I know apps that do this generally need a locally installed software to open the mouse, but not sure if there is any other way - that would make this the perfect remote!
I know Tom said he had some good experience attempting to use it as a touchpad. I'd like to improve this if at all possible, because I too believe if that is streamlined in a way that is easy it would be great.

I'm happy so many of you are using this now!

Thanks to everyone for your interest and support!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old January 9th, 2011, 12:03 PM
xmiinc xmiinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Strictly speaking, I'm not using it as a touchpad (which would be even better than the hardware Boxee remote) but rather pushing qwerty keypad buttons to move the cursor, much like the original Boxee remote--with the exception of having a continuous keypress being recognized and accelerating the cursor. You can kinda sorta get the same effect with multiple button pushes on the slide-out keyboard of the droid I have, but its even more tedious than a continuous keypress on the Boxee remote. But with patience it is usable.

Short of an actual touchpad paradigm, getting the app to recognize a continuous keypress on the amo virtual remote would make it "as good as" the Boxee remote.

I'm curious, neveroffline, what are you using to code this app? I used to be a Flash programmer (as in AS-coding) in a former life, and this app feels a bit like those kinds of projects.--Tom

Quote:
Originally Posted by neveroffline View Post
I know Tom said he had some good experience attempting to use it as a touchpad. I'd like to improve this if at all possible, because I too believe if that is streamlined in a way that is easy it would be great.

I'm happy so many of you are using this now!

Thanks to everyone for your interest and support!
__________________
Intel-Macmini/8Gig RAM (yes, all addressable) w/500G Seagate 7200rpm hd, 8Tb LG N4B1 NAS, hacked/Crystal'd Apple TV, Boxee Box streamer, DIR-655 N-router, iSight, dual 20" Apple flat panel

Last edited by xmiinc; January 9th, 2011 at 12:07 PM. Reason: added a question
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old January 9th, 2011, 01:59 PM
neveroffline neveroffline is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xmiinc View Post
Strictly speaking, I'm not using it as a touchpad (which would be even better than the hardware Boxee remote) but rather pushing qwerty keypad buttons to move the cursor, much like the original Boxee remote--with the exception of having a continuous keypress being recognized and accelerating the cursor. You can kinda sorta get the same effect with multiple button pushes on the slide-out keyboard of the droid I have, but its even more tedious than a continuous keypress on the Boxee remote. But with patience it is usable.

Short of an actual touchpad paradigm, getting the app to recognize a continuous keypress on the amo virtual remote would make it "as good as" the Boxee remote.

I'm curious, neveroffline, what are you using to code this app? I used to be a Flash programmer (as in AS-coding) in a former life, and this app feels a bit like those kinds of projects.--Tom
I'm looking into testing a continous up/down/left/right, but I have no idea how its going to work. Maybe something like 10 up pushes or something per push, or 2-3 per second or something?

Android uses Java. We are using that, plus some html/js server side for the interface. It's essentially a web app, which makes it easy to port to Symbian, iPhone, etc. We will be bringing it to other platforms in the near future.

Thanks.
Dustin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
android remote, boxeebox, control, remote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.