Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Launcher 2.2 conflict with Firefox launched from nitoTV?

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Unhappy Launcher 2.2 conflict with Firefox launched from nitoTV?

    This may be coincidence, but ever since I updated to Launcher 2.x I have not been able to run Firefox.

    This morning I brought the ATV back to Factory and reinstalled everything. I used the standard USBStick and then added nitoTV, did the smart update, and then copied firefox to the Applications folder and quicktime and flash to the /Library/Internet Plug-ins folder.

    When I launch Firefox from the nitoTV->Applications menu the ATV appears to hang...I can't back up and Firefox does not come up. When I ssh into the ATV, I can see that Firefox is running. If I kill the finder on the ATV, Firefox comes up on the AppleTV and works fine, I have mouse and keyboard support and all is good until I try to get out of firefox and back to the standard ATV finder. There appears to be no way to exit and leave running Firefox. If I quit Firefox, finder restarts and works ok.

    Another issue that I am having that may or may not be related it mouse and keyboard support on Boxee. As I said above the mouse and keyboard work fine in Firefox, but in Boxee, I can not use either. Again I THINK I stopped working after I upgraded Launcher 2.x

    Great product, and thanks in advance for any help you might be able to provide!

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    579

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmarksprague View Post
    This may be coincidence, but ever since I updated to Launcher 2.x I have not been able to run Firefox.

    This morning I brought the ATV back to Factory and reinstalled everything. I used the standard USBStick and then added nitoTV, did the smart update, and then copied firefox to the Applications folder and quicktime and flash to the /Library/Internet Plug-ins folder.

    When I launch Firefox from the nitoTV->Applications menu the ATV appears to hang...I can't back up and Firefox does not come up. When I ssh into the ATV, I can see that Firefox is running. If I kill the finder on the ATV, Firefox comes up on the AppleTV and works fine, I have mouse and keyboard support and all is good until I try to get out of firefox and back to the standard ATV finder. There appears to be no way to exit and leave running Firefox. If I quit Firefox, finder restarts and works ok.

    Another issue that I am having that may or may not be related it mouse and keyboard support on Boxee. As I said above the mouse and keyboard work fine in Firefox, but in Boxee, I can not use either. Again I THINK I stopped working after I upgraded Launcher 2.x

    Great product, and thanks in advance for any help you might be able to provide!

    Mark
    revert back to Launcher 0.8, Launcher 2.2 is capturing the display such that firefox cannot get it.

  3. #3

    Default

    Do you know the URL for the 0.8 Launcher? I looked around and could only find the 2.2 launcher.

    I think that will probably work. I downgraded from multifinder and now Boxee will not launch, but Firefox works as expected.

    Mark

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    579

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmarksprague View Post
    Do you know the URL for the 0.8 Launcher? I looked around and could only find the 2.2 launcher.

    I think that will probably work. I downgraded from multifinder and now Boxee will not launch, but Firefox works as expected.

    Mark
    Launcher 2.2 can downgrade to Launcher 0.8. See the downloads menu entry.

    Boxee does launch but you get a black screen because frontrow will not release the display.

  5. #5

    Default

    ok but that is not really helpful..from what you are saying I either get boxee (launcher 2.2) or firefox (launcher 0.8), but not both.

    What is the solution? Also does the keyboard/mouse issue with Boxee have anything to do with this? I suppose I could probably live without Firefox, if the keyboard and mouse worked with boxee...especially if firefox became a boxee application...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    579

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmarksprague View Post
    ok but that is not really helpful..from what you are saying I either get boxee (launcher 2.2) or firefox (launcher 0.8), but not both.

    What is the solution? Also does the keyboard/mouse issue with Boxee have anything to do with this? I suppose I could probably live without Firefox, if the keyboard and mouse worked with boxee...especially if firefox became a boxee application...
    At the current time, yes. Fix is in the works. The other thing you could do is roll back to ATV OS r2.2 and run Launcher 0.8. You can do this with osupdate.

    If you did the NitoTV UBS device enable, keyboard and mouse should work in boxee.

Similar Threads

  1. Flash Beta 3 and Firefox 3.6 via Launcher Downloads Menu
    By JimWiley in forum boxee for appletv help
    Replies: 96
    Last Post: April 21st, 2013, 07:14 AM
  2. Will installing NitoTV, Firefox add value to Boxee performace?
    By jdfern in forum boxee for appletv help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 27th, 2010, 10:57 AM
  3. Boxee can not be launched from XBMC
    By dukevn in forum boxee for linux help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 21st, 2010, 11:30 PM
  4. OpenBoxeeBox.com just launched
    By deviceguru in forum announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 11th, 2009, 09:09 AM
  5. How to update from Launcher 0.8 to Launcher 2.0
    By DuraCELL in forum boxee for appletv help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 27th, 2008, 07:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •