boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > general boxee help

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old January 22nd, 2009, 12:13 PM
tonyscha tonyscha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polluted View Post
Care to recommend a remote?
the Microsoft Media Center Remote.
  #12  
Old January 24th, 2009, 02:56 AM
chercka chercka is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHermas View Post
boxee won't play any drm'd files like tv shows purchased from itunes.
Really? My wife buys Gossip Girl and One Tree Hill off iTunes and although boxee doesn't identify them correctly, I can play them fine by either browsing to them, or renaming them to fit boxee conventions.
  #13  
Old January 29th, 2009, 09:28 PM
jovi jovi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Good, helpful post. I'd add:

6) All the cool on-line video feeds from Hulu, CBS, Netflix, etc. are already built-in; no need to add plug-ins or RSS feeds or whatever to see them. You just need to look under Video->Internet or Music->Internet to find them.

That was non-obvious to me, and probably would be to other Boxee n00bs. I spent quite a while thrashing around before finding the answer in this forum.
  #14  
Old January 30th, 2009, 05:13 AM
subvertbeats subvertbeats is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wokingham, UK
Posts: 389
Send a message via AIM to subvertbeats
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chercka View Post
Really? My wife buys Gossip Girl and One Tree Hill off iTunes and although boxee doesn't identify them correctly, I can play them fine by either browsing to them, or renaming them to fit boxee conventions.
Guess they arent DRM's then?
  #15  
Old February 2nd, 2009, 02:59 PM
danieldsk danieldsk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Default movie and music naming conventions

Quote:
Originally Posted by chercka View Post
... or renaming them to fit boxee conventions.
what are those conventions? I don't watch tv shows (except top gear) and I have only movies and music. what are naming conventions for movies and music? how to add something that does not exist in the tvdb? I would like an option to add cover arts manually....

thank you,

d
  #16  
Old February 2nd, 2009, 04:48 PM
Kissell Kissell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 85
Default

There is no option to add cover art manually, if something doesn't exist on thetvdb.com then just add it, the website is a wiki and you can modify it as you see fit. This way it benefits us all and not just you. If you add cover art manually (locally) then it just does it in your local database, and as long as your doing that work, why not just add it to thetvdb.com instead?

As far as naming conventions, I use:
"Show name - sXXeYY - Episode Title.avi"

And it works fine for the most part... however, it is not recommended to use spaces... the recommendation is to use underscores, but I think they make my file system ugly, so I don't use them. But, your show name does have to match what thetvdb.com has listed for show name.
  #17  
Old February 3rd, 2009, 12:01 PM
danieldsk danieldsk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kissell View Post
... if something doesn't exist on thetvdb.com then just add it, the website is a wiki and you can modify it as you see fit. This way it benefits us all and not just you. If you add cover art manually (locally) then it just does it in your local database, and as long as your doing that work, why not just add it to thetvdb.com instead?
hello kissell,

of course i would rather add them into thetvdb.com for a benefit of others - but i can't - only tv shows i keep are in slovak or czech languages. according to tvdb's multi_language page those two are not available

danieldsk
  #18  
Old February 3rd, 2009, 12:57 PM
Kissell Kissell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 85
Default

I'd just post them as english and tell the moderators in the forum that they are really of a language that's not a choice, let them figure out what they want to do with them.

I have a lot of japanese audio stuff, and I've noticed that the guys running thetvdb.com don't seem to care what language setting you put... because they don't want duplicate entries, they don't want an entry for the english dub and a separate one for the japanese audio... so because there can be audio dubs and because they only want one show entry despite that, it seems they don't pay attention to much or care so much about the language setting. A show is a show, and the original language is irrelevant... at least, that's been what I've noticed the habit to be.

Ideally though, yeah, the information should be as accurate as possible, and perhaps someone in the forum can get the correct languages added.
  #19  
Old June 25th, 2009, 01:00 PM
beyondzero beyondzero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 42
Default

Isn't the "private" option obvious? I thought the point was to let Boxee connect to a network share full of Pr0n and make it easily accessible but without putting it where the wife/girlfriend/boyfriend/kids/dog would stumble upon it...
  #20  
Old July 8th, 2009, 08:50 PM
Lividhatter Lividhatter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Default

the A key doesnt do anything.

I have the newest windows version. Any ideas?
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.