boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > general boxee help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 13th, 2009, 11:05 PM
unisonband unisonband is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 448
Default Xbox 360 and Boxee?

Can Boxee be used on the Xbox 360? I currently use it on the ATV, but 720P content is very choppy. Xbox 360 plays 720P flawlessly...if I could get boxee on there then all problems could be solved!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 13th, 2009, 11:14 PM
agentlame agentlame is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,706
Send a message via AIM to agentlame
Default

boxee would first need to be ported to ppc... as would flash and silverlight for hulu/netflix support.
__________________
personal: boxee | twitter | boxee hq
boxee: boxee chat | boxee wiki | boxee plugins

i run boxee 0.9.20 on: ubuntu 9.10, windows xp sp3 (virtual machine), windows 7 and a neuros link hacked to all hell.

what super powers does a 'super mod' have? the 'super ban'... that, and laser vision.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 13th, 2009, 11:15 PM
unisonband unisonband is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 448
Default

Are there any plans in the furure to do so?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 13th, 2009, 11:21 PM
agentlame agentlame is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,706
Send a message via AIM to agentlame
Default

personally, i doubt it... xbmc would need to be ported first... and that seems to be going nowhere.

here is the official discussion: http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=206

as for flash and silverlight... well, i'm sure that will never happen.
__________________
personal: boxee | twitter | boxee hq
boxee: boxee chat | boxee wiki | boxee plugins

i run boxee 0.9.20 on: ubuntu 9.10, windows xp sp3 (virtual machine), windows 7 and a neuros link hacked to all hell.

what super powers does a 'super mod' have? the 'super ban'... that, and laser vision.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 14th, 2009, 12:52 PM
misterjamin misterjamin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 49
Default

Last time I checked the xbox 360 hacking community hadn't even managed to run apps on the 360?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 14th, 2009, 01:07 PM
unisonband unisonband is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 448
Default

I guess I'll just stick with the ATV and looik forward to the progress of boxee
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 14th, 2009, 04:13 PM
babaki babaki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to babaki
Default

i was under the impression you could have the 360 see boxee as a seperate media source and stream from your computer through the xbox to your tv. am i wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 15th, 2009, 04:58 PM
misterjamin misterjamin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babaki View Post
i was under the impression you could have the 360 see boxee as a seperate media source and stream from your computer through the xbox to your tv. am i wrong?
That you might be able to do - Xboe 360 will stream from network-attached media servers (UPnP). I know xbmc can act as a UPnP AV Server, so Boxee might well be able to too.

You'll almost definitely never be able to run boxee on an XBox 360 though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 17th, 2009, 07:19 PM
clectcar clectcar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Never be able to Run Boxee on XBOX360- true?

Just to confirm "never" is a very long time. There are thousands of game controllers connected to TV sets. If not Xbox360 how about Boxee on Play Station?
I would guess that somebody would figure this out?
I THOUGHT Xbox360 was a LINUX box?
Clearly there are different types of Linux boxes.
If anyone can simplify this and write a "dumbed down" answer it would be great.
Or write a list of Xbox features that won't allow Boxee to run??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 17th, 2009, 09:32 PM
agentlame agentlame is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,706
Send a message via AIM to agentlame
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clectcar View Post
If not Xbox360 how about Boxee on Play Station?
still needs to be ported to ppc.

Quote:
I would guess that somebody would figure this out?
they've been trying for three years.

Quote:
I THOUGHT Xbox360 was a LINUX box?
um... are you saying that microsoft based their game console on linux?

Quote:
Or write a list of Xbox features that won't allow Boxee to run??
no list, one thing: ppc processor.
__________________
personal: boxee | twitter | boxee hq
boxee: boxee chat | boxee wiki | boxee plugins

i run boxee 0.9.20 on: ubuntu 9.10, windows xp sp3 (virtual machine), windows 7 and a neuros link hacked to all hell.

what super powers does a 'super mod' have? the 'super ban'... that, and laser vision.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.