boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > general boxee help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 19th, 2009, 09:24 PM
protcron protcron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 73
Default Boxee Live CD

So, I was bored today, and I put together a Boxee Live CD based on the XBMC Live iso (which is so very cool.)

So my question is, can I put it up on the the Interwebs? Will Boxee host it? Or am I just doomed to look at what I made and give instructions because of licensing restrictions?

Instructions in this thread (btw): Instructions for Linux
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 19th, 2009, 09:46 PM
PHermas's Avatar
PHermas PHermas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: staten island, ny
Posts: 295
Default

put it up on thepiratebay. boxee's open source so i think you could, if i'm wrong i'm sure someone can point that out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 19th, 2009, 10:04 PM
protcron protcron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 73
Default

Nah.... I posted instructions, if someone else wants to do that, that's their business. I myself like to be a rule abiding citizen. In regards to the open source part, I think there is some gray area here. Additionally there is the issue that Boxee is still in beta.

Actually I'd like actual input from a moderator or an admin on whether to post it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 20th, 2009, 07:11 AM
subvertbeats subvertbeats is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wokingham, UK
Posts: 389
Send a message via AIM to subvertbeats
Default

I was looking at the other thread protcron.
Great work. Did you resolve the issues with the select few sources not playing?

Im afraid I cant autoritatively answer your question re distributing/hosting the live CD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 20th, 2009, 09:27 AM
protcron protcron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 73
Default

No, not yet. I need some input from someone more experienced with Boxee than myself to comment on that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 20th, 2009, 02:37 PM
protcron protcron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 73
Default

I have it working now. I just need it tested out. If someone wants to test the updated instructions, that would be helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 20th, 2009, 05:09 PM
protcron protcron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 73
Default

No. I got ahead of myself.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 20th, 2009, 05:45 PM
DannyDroid DannyDroid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Default

Under the OSA then it should be fine as long as you give credit to both boxee and xbmc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 20th, 2009, 05:53 PM
protcron protcron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 73
Default

Ok,

It's working now. Man was that a trial.

Anyway, in regards to posting it. I am generally opposed to doing that without some kind of a "ok" from Boxee.

That said, I am beginning to change my mind, rapidly, as there has been no response from Boxee on this topic (or others.) Additionally, the more research I do, the more I believe that they would be ok with this as they have someone selling an AppleTV box with Boxee on it, they know about it and seem to be ok with it.
I'm not going to sell anything, I just don't want to go against them.

So...... If Boxee does not officially answer soon, is anyone interested in hosting the 450 MB image for some real testing? PM me I will get back to you by the end of the week.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 20th, 2009, 06:29 PM
subvertbeats subvertbeats is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wokingham, UK
Posts: 389
Send a message via AIM to subvertbeats
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protcron View Post
Ok,

It's working now. Man was that a trial.

Anyway, in regards to posting it. I am generally opposed to doing that without some kind of a "ok" from Boxee.

That said, I am beginning to change my mind, rapidly, as there has been no response from Boxee on this topic (or others.) Additionally, the more research I do, the more I believe that they would be ok with this as they have someone selling an AppleTV box with Boxee on it, they know about it and seem to be ok with it.
I'm not going to sell anything, I just don't want to go against them.

So...... If Boxee does not officially answer soon, is anyone interested in hosting the 450 MB image for some real testing? PM me I will get back to you by the end of the week.
I can host it for your testing at least, provided we limit it to a given number of users so that i dont get rinsed by the hosting company.....i'll also point someone from boxee here in case they havent seen the topic.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.