Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Boxee and Slingbox

  1. #11

    Default

    I have no issues streaming in HD from my slingbox pro -hd at my dads house. I set up 2 profiles for it, which I do for all my slingboxes, one direct and one using the sling I'd.

    One quirky thing I have noticed with the boxee sling client that doesn't happen with the desktop clients is that in order to get hd streaming on it, I have to use the sling I'd instead of direct. The hd option is not greyed out while using the sling id.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AeroR1 View Post
    I have no issues streaming in HD from my slingbox pro -hd at my dads house. I set up 2 profiles for it, which I do for all my slingboxes, one direct and one using the sling I'd.

    One quirky thing I have noticed with the boxee sling client that doesn't happen with the desktop clients is that in order to get hd streaming on it, I have to use the sling I'd instead of direct. The hd option is not greyed out while using the sling id.

    Have you noticed any high-pitched audio on the boxee slingbox app? I have a Slingbox HD and most of the time the quality of the sound is mono at best, with a really annoying high-pitched feedback effect to the audio. If this makes sense please let me know. I have a direct connection to the box without a HD receiver on the slingbox end.

  3. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teamkory View Post
    Have you noticed any high-pitched audio on the boxee slingbox app? I have a Slingbox HD and most of the time the quality of the sound is mono at best, with a really annoying high-pitched feedback effect to the audio. If this makes sense please let me know. I have a direct connection to the box without a HD receiver on the slingbox end.
    no, never encountered that.

  4. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john77 View Post
    Same issue for months. Actually ever since I got the Boxee. Sling works great on all my computers, not my Boxee!

    Download speed constantly fluctuates and under "Current bitrate (kbps):" is most of the time between only 100-900 kbps when looking at the "Quality menu" (pressing Q in Sling Player app) despite being wired directly into router. Is not an issue with my DLink modem/router. I know this is either a direct issue with the Boxee Box or it's the Slingplayer app because I do not have any issue with Slingplayer apps for my other devices connected wirelessly on the same network (2 laptops connected wirelessly using SlingPlayer app and a Nokia Lumia 800 Windows Phone using a SlingPlayer app). So it's not an issue with my modem/router or the modem/router of where the SlingBox is connected. I get constant HD connection with "Current bitrate (kbps):" of ~3000kbps when connecting to SlingPlayer app on my computer.

    Has Boxee even acknowledged this?

    I have the exact same results...either boxee hardware can't handle any better performance, or the app needs to be updated ASAP.

    Boxee - please acknowledge..

    Thanks,
    R

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Orbiting Venus
    Posts
    16,198

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Midnightbiller View Post
    I have the exact same results...either boxee hardware can't handle any better performance, or the app needs to be updated ASAP.

    Boxee - please acknowledge..

    Thanks,
    R
    If you'd like to contact Boxee official technical support, please use the first link below.
    Note: This is a users' community forum. For official support, submit a Support Request.
    You can also find out how to Get Help or read the Boxee TV and Boxee Box Documentation.

    SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v0.9.9.7.146 w/PlexPass
    HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
    on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
    via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
    Plex Media Server v0.9.7.22 on HP Touchsmart 600-1105xt
    Sonos Play:3, Connect / Simple.TV / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2

    "Some people just aren't happy unless they're disappointed or angry."

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I just got a boxee box and using the sling player app and I'm having some issues. I'm getting a connection issue and the quality suggests i switch to "good" instead of HD (best). The problem is i stream HD just fine on the PC. The windows slingplayer or even the web player work just fine on HD quality and it settles around 6500kbps @ 29.9fps.

    I have no stuttering issues or frame skipping at all with the PC.


    The boxee Box is wired and is connected to the same router as the pc. Something must be wrong with the app as the pc runs just perfect.

    Also to add to the frustration, my iPad and even my andriod phone run HQ quality just fine with no problems.

    Any ideas guys?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Same problem

    Having the same problem as everyone else. My streamrate is fairly constant on a laptop, but using the app on boxee it swings between 1100-3500 almost constantly. Any help would be appreciated!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Cool sling box

    I just bought boxee for the sole purpose of using the sling box app, but it doesn't appear on my apps. Any suggestions.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aerochrome2 View Post
    Having the same problem as everyone else. My streamrate is fairly constant on a laptop, but using the app on boxee it swings between 1100-3500 almost constantly. Any help would be appreciated!
    So the situation gets even weirder.


    I got a 2nd boxee for the living room and that is able to do HD stream however, during fast action or if the screen pans the video seems to drop FPS but remains constant and decent quality.

    So weird. If i swap boxes my original boxee still is unable to do HD stream without it skipping like crazy and freezing.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Boxxee in Germany

    I I purchase a Boxxee in Germany will it have or have availability to get the sling catcher app? I am buying it solely to watch programing from my Slingbox in the USA

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •