Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: VPN Connection - Gives unstable BoxeeBox

  1. #1

    Default VPN Connection - Gives unstable BoxeeBox

    Hey!

    Just wanted to know if anyone else is experiencing the problem with VPN. I personally use "StrongVPN" and when i want to connect, it used to work smoothly everytime.. Now - It works ones and if i disconnect it and want to reconnect later - It just hangs and won't let me connect.. It's gotta be some kind of softwarebug.. Can anyone confirm that ?

    Any solutions ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    873

    Default

    Use > Unblock Us - smarter faster VPN

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Orbiting Venus
    Posts
    14,047

    Default

    Just pointing out that VPN is typically done over a secure/encrypted network connection while DNS solutions like Unblock Us is not... so it's not a "smarter faster VPN" but it is another way to get at geolocked content.
    Note: This is a users' community forum. For official support, submit a Support Request.
    You can also find out how to Get Help or view the Boxee Box Documentation.
    See also: READ THIS FIRST & Live TV FAQ. RIP: Boxee Desktop


    Boxee Box v1.5.0.23615 with a 32" Panasonic TC-L32X2.
    Plex running on HP TouchSmart 600xt, iPhone 4, iPad 2, and HP m8400f Vista x86 HTPC which is also running
    Plex Media Server/SageTV 7.1/Intelliremote via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550
    with everything orbiting an HP EX490 MediaSmart Server/WHS+MediaSonic w/12TB of storage.

  4. #4

    Default

    Exactly... Am i really the only one having this issue ???

    Quote Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
    Just pointing out that VPN is typically done over a secure/encrypted network connection while DNS solutions like Unblock Us is not... so it's not a "smarter faster VPN" but it is another way to get at geolocked content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I am having a similar issue....used to work smoothly. Now when I try to connect I get the picture for 1 second, it freezes then drops. StrongVPN not so strong?

  6. #6

    Default

    Exactly - But i don't think its a StrongVPN issue - It is a BoxeeBox issue.. Anyone from BoxeeSupport that could look into that? ;-)


    Quote Originally Posted by westbru View Post
    I am having a similar issue....used to work smoothly. Now when I try to connect I get the picture for 1 second, it freezes then drops. StrongVPN not so strong?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Orbiting Venus
    Posts
    14,047

    Default

    If it used to work well, then stopped working well, the first point of contact should be StrongVPN customer support.

    Anyone from BoxeeSupport that could look into that? ;-)
    Sure, use the first link below.
    Note: This is a users' community forum. For official support, submit a Support Request.
    You can also find out how to Get Help or view the Boxee Box Documentation.
    See also: READ THIS FIRST & Live TV FAQ. RIP: Boxee Desktop


    Boxee Box v1.5.0.23615 with a 32" Panasonic TC-L32X2.
    Plex running on HP TouchSmart 600xt, iPhone 4, iPad 2, and HP m8400f Vista x86 HTPC which is also running
    Plex Media Server/SageTV 7.1/Intelliremote via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550
    with everything orbiting an HP EX490 MediaSmart Server/WHS+MediaSonic w/12TB of storage.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    106

    Default

    I recently had my boxee glitch on me and it lost all it's settings as if it had been told to return to it's default settings. When I reconfigured the VPN it would not connect under any condition. The only way I was able to restore it was by doing a reset to factory and re-flashing the firmware. It was a giant pain in the neck, but afterwards the VPN worked fine again.

    I hope that doesn't happen to me again, but it was peculiar because the only thing that it really seemed to break was the VPN

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I use StongVPN as well, I have not had any issues when connecting or when connected to my VPN.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •