boxee :: forums  

Go Back   boxee :: forums > boxee community > boxee for linux help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 4th, 2008, 08:41 AM
jgw1977 jgw1977 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Upsate NY
Posts: 70
Default Installing Boxee on Ubuntu

This question is from someone who is very new to Ubuntu.

I have downloaded the Boxee package to my desktop - how do I install it?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 4th, 2008, 05:04 PM
MaXMC MaXMC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Follow the instructions on the download page. It's much easier and you'll have automatic updates that way.

If you're new to linux you should read the instructions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 5th, 2008, 06:19 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,533
Default

hi jgw1977

welcome to boxee..

To download Boxee for Linux:

1. Go to System > Administration > Software Sources.
2. In Sources Software dialogue, select Third-Party Software tab, click Add, and enter:
* for Gutsy: deb http://apt.boxee.tv gutsy main
* for Hardy: deb http://apt.boxee.tv hardy main
3. After closing this dialogue you can either use Synaptics and select Boxee for download, or use a terminal window, and enter sudo apt-get install boxee.

To run Boxee, Applications > Sound & Video > Boxee
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 5th, 2008, 09:09 AM
jgw1977 jgw1977 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Upsate NY
Posts: 70
Default

Thanks - I do all that but then I get the error -

Couldn't find package boxee.


Any ideas?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 5th, 2008, 09:29 AM
marcel marcel is offline
team boxee (admin)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,533
Default

are you using 64 bit ...if so check out this work around http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=374
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 6th, 2008, 06:26 PM
seliko2001 seliko2001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default problems with boxee on ubuntu 8.04

I installed, and all seemed fine, until i double clicked on the boxee icon for the first time. a black screen appeared for 3 seconds, and then I was thrown into the ubuntu user logon screen.

Familiar?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 6th, 2008, 06:42 PM
agentlame agentlame is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,618
Send a message via AIM to agentlame
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seliko2001 View Post
I installed, and all seemed fine, until i double clicked on the boxee icon for the first time. a black screen appeared for 3 seconds, and then I was thrown into the ubuntu user logon screen.

Familiar?
glad you found the linux forum... i responded with some tips to your other post:
http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?p=3692#post3692
__________________
personal: boxee | twitter | boxee hq
boxee: boxee chat | boxee wiki | boxee plugins

i run boxee 0.9.20 on: ubuntu 9.10, windows xp sp3 (virtual machine), windows 7 and a neuros link hacked to all hell.

what super powers does a 'super mod' have? the 'super ban'... that, and laser vision.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.


skin based on greenzero from vBSkins.com

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.