Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 94

Thread: boxee remote for iphone/ipod now available on apple app store

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I'm also running Windows XP SP3. I can connect to port 8800 on my machine with safari on my iPhone but the Boxee remote app can't find a host. Both XP and the iPhone are on the same subnet.

  2. #2

    Default

    Try disable windows firewall..
    I had to do that ,in order to get it to connect.. (but app dosen't work tho :-( )

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Password trouble

    I can't log into Boxee (on my ATV) using the iPhone app. It finds and connects to my ATV, but keeps giving me an "invalid password" message.

    Tried my boxee password (which works on the website), and "frontrow" to no avail.

    Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I am running the latest version of boxee on os x 10.5.6 and somehow can't seem to connect on the same wifi connection from my iPhone app. The web server is enabled in boxee.

    What would you recommend?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    15,684

    Default

    @ tjo234 did you validate your boxee account ..

    @abhic try running boxee first and then try to connect via your iphone..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    @tjo234: I had the same problem.
    I didn't realize at first it was the webserver password I had to enter.
    So not the boxee password and not the ssh password.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stefmannen View Post
    @tjo234: I had the same problem.
    I didn't realize at first it was the webserver password I had to enter.
    So not the boxee password and not the ssh password.
    That was the issue, I didn't realize there was a webserver password as well.

    App is working great!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Couldn't agree more about button positioning, other side of the screen would have been better.. but works great! Couldn't get the alleged keyboard support to work with the Apple TV version though

    Scratch that... just me being dumb! All works wonderfully

    now if only the Pandora remote iphone app, would talk to Boxee Pandora client!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    This remote app works great. The only problem with it is whenever i click the "now playing" button, the app crashes and i have to restart it.
    btw, i have the new iPhone 3g S

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I'd like to offer some constructive criticism on the remote app.

    Today I tried out boxee and the remote app out, I don't think it works particularly well with boxee.

    Here's why:

    You're treating the touch display as if it were some buttons on a normal remote. Because of the obvious total lack of any tactile feedback I constantly found myself looking up and down between the monitor and my iphone to see what I was doing.

    The drag the boxee logo thing was similar, in that I constantly found myself switching back and forth.

    With a normal remote I don't particularly need to look at it. Tactile feedback ensures I know which buttons to press.

    Instead of having it as a remote on the touchscreen make it an actual mini-display of what is on the boxee display. For example, if it's a listing of tv shows then list them on the iphone display so that the user can scroll through the list and simply press on what he wants to watch.

    Essentially recreate to a degree the ipod functionality of the ipod touch/iphone but in the boxee app, but when telling it to play, pause, alter volume it does that for what's being displayed on the tv/monitor.


    On the plus side I found the app very ease to use and it found boxee without a flaw. Which is a lot better than other apps of that kind that i've seen for the touch/iphone. It also appears very nicely polished as apps go.

    EDIT: In terms of functionality of the remote I think essentially it should be the same kind of interface as the Remote app made by Apple on the app store. It allows you to control itunes/appletv from your iphone/ipod touch.

    Here you can see what I mean.
    Last edited by markcasey; June 25th, 2009 at 06:06 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 30th, 2010, 04:52 AM
  2. Problems with Boxee iPod Touch/iPhone remote
    By _Undefined in forum bugs? what bugs?
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 16th, 2010, 12:12 PM
  3. Boxee remote for Ipod from Itunes Store
    By vcrdst in forum general boxee help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 27th, 2010, 11:44 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 24th, 2009, 04:46 AM
  5. Apple iPhone Remote app to control Boxee?
    By Gamester17 in forum feature requests
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2009, 01:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •